Westchester County Theatre People to Be Honored at Cab Calloway Awards Sept. 1

News   Westchester County Theatre People to Be Honored at Cab Calloway Awards Sept. 1
The recipients of the Cab Calloway Lifetime Achievement Awards, celebrating excellence in the performing arts in Westchester County, NY, will be honored at a Sept. 1 ceremony in Elmsford, NY.

The awards also note Calloway's dedication and support for young, rising talent. The actor-musician was a resident of Elmsford for more than 30 years.

The recipients are recognized for their body of work, dedication and contribution to some aspect of the performing arts in Westchester County.

Since the award is for "lifetime achievement," the individual should be "of sufficient age to warrant such an honor," according to organizers. The individual must have made some significant contribution to the performing arts. Those eligible might include performers, educators, entrepreneurs, technicians, designers, producers, directors, choreographers, composers, librettists, conductors, actors, dancers, mentors or even individuals who, through their continuous support, "have had a positive effect on some aspect of the performing arts in Westchester."

Making guest appearances at the Sept. 1 event at Westchester Broadway Theatre will be Robert Hager from the Broadway cast of Spring Awakening, Jason Spoor and The Westchester Dreamcoats, plus special guest presenter Craig Schulman (of The Phantom of the Opera, Les Misérables and more).

Additional performers will be announced. The 2007 Honorees are:

  • Asbury Summer Theatre: In recognition of Andrew Gmoser for his 32 years of dedication as a board member, director, lighting designer and set designer. AST will be closing its doors after this season. Gmoser is the founder of Silent G Productions. He has been the resident lighting designer at The Westchester Broadway Theatre for the last 18 years.
  • Donna Cribari. A beloved composer, musical director, conductor and teacher, she was commissioned by the Westchester Bicentennial Commission to compose Thomas J., which was presented locally and at Lincoln Center. She is one of the founders of The Port Chester Village Players and the Port Chester Council for the Arts. For over 30 years, she served as musical director of the Mt. Pleasant Community Theatre and numerous other organizations.
  • The Harrison Players. The award is given in recognition of Dottie Pustola and Ann Wurzburger, for their lifelong dedication to excellence in community theatre. They were founding members of the Harrison Players where they served as board members and in many capacities on and off stage.
  • Vinny Lopreto. He's been a director, choreographer, instructor in tap and ballroom dancing, and a stage performer for 67 years throughout Westchester County, having worked with the IC Players in Eastchester, The Barnabas Players in Yonkers and New Rochelle Theaterworks. He has served as resident choreographer for the Eastchester Arts Council and for the Brunswick School.
  • Mara Mills. For ten years, she's been the artistic director of the Herbert Mark Newman Theater at the Rosenthal YM/YWHA in Pleasantville. She promoted and developed original works and produced classical and contemporary works as well as traditional American musicals and plays.
  • Dick Nagle and Jeanne McCabe. They are esteemed members of the professional and community theatre life in Westchester. He served as fire chief with various regional fire departments and she enriched the lives of young adults as a social worker, where she set up theatrical internships for students in the Boces program. He was the co-founder of the Mahopac Farm Playhouse and of the La Pino Dinner Theater. He was also a founding member of the Stepinac Alumni Theater. She has performed leading roles in almost every local professional and community theatre. Together, they were featured at the Westchester Broadway Theatre in I Do! I Do!
  • Selma Rothstein. She is a beloved dance teacher and choreographer who has devoted over 50 years to the instruction of children and adults. For the last 39 years she has taught at the YWCA in White Plains. She was inducted into the Westchester County Seniors Hall of Fame in 2003. She is director of The Tappettes, a group of senior citizens who entertain throughout Westchester County. Westchester Broadway Theatre is at 1 Broadway Plaza in Elmsford, NY. Doors open for dinner at 6 PM before the 7:30 ceremony and entertainment. Admission ranges $50-$100 and includes dinner and special amenities.

    For reservations call George Puello at (914) 592-2268, ext. 805.


    A portion of the proceeds from the evening will benefit the Asbury Summer Theatre. Any funds left over after the theatre closes will transfer to the Asbury Church, which the group has called home for 32 years. Tickets are tax deductible.

  • Today’s Most Popular News: