Will Frears Replaces James Lapine as Director of Off-Broadway's Terrorism

News   Will Frears Replaces James Lapine as Director of Off-Broadway's Terrorism
Omnium Gatherum director Will Frears will replace Bee-busy James Lapine for The New Group's upcoming American premiere staging of Terrorism Off-Broadway.

The Presnyakov Brothers drama will be the season finale for the Off-Broadway troupe to be co-presented with The Play Company. Previews begin May 9 at The Clurman in Theater Row toward a May 24 opening, according to a production spokesperson.

Sascha Dugdale translates the work by the Siberian scribes Vladimir and Oleg Presnyakov, the plot of which is set into motion with a bomb threat in an airport. The work debuted at London's Royal Court in 2003 and is divided into six scenes dealing with the impending threat of doom.

Lapine (Into The Woods, Fran's Bed) recently directed the Off-Broadway musical The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee — which is expected to transfer to Broadway following its currently-scheduled run through March 20 at Second Stage Theatre. Producer David Stone is reportedly awaiting a Broadway house for the possible move estimated at $3.5 million with the hope to keep the original Off Broadway cast.

Frears — who is set to direct Sean Cunningham's God Hates the Irish or the Ballad of Armless Johnny at Off-Broadway's Rattlestick Theatre in March — staged the Off-Broadway run of Theresa Rebeck and Alexandra Gersten-Vassilio's Omnium Gatherum. Other directing credits include the world premiere of Lucy Thurber's Where We're Born, Jessica Goldberg's Get What You Need (Atlantic Theater Company), Rebeck's The Water's Edge (Williamstown Theatre Festival) and the Chicago premiere of Stephen Adly Guirgis' drama Our Lady of 121st Street (Steppenwolf Theatre Company).

The New Group's current staging of Hurlyburly featuring a revised script from playwright David Rabe directed by the company's artistic director Scott Elliott (Aunt Dan and Lemon, The Women). The production starring Ethan Hawke, Parker Posey, Bobby Cannavale, Josh Hamilton, Catherine Kellner, Halley Wegryn Gross and Wallace Shawn will move to the more spacious 37 Arts venue to reopen April 4. For more information on The New Group, visit www.thenewgroup.org.

Today’s Most Popular News: