Winners of Theatre World Awards to Be Announced in May; Reception in June

News   Winners of Theatre World Awards to Be Announced in May; Reception in June
The winners of the 2007-2008 Theatre World Awards — honoring performers making their New York stage debuts on or Off-Broadway — will be announced May 12.

Peter Filichia, the theatre writer and critic who hosts the annual Theatre World Awards, also told that the 64th Annual Theatre World Awards ceremony will be held in Manhattan June 10.

The 12 awards bestowed are traditionally presented by former award winners.

Last year's winners included the following actors:

  • Fantasia Barrino, The Color Purple
  • Eve Best, A Moon for the Misbegotten
  • Mary Birdsong, Martin Short: Fame Becomes Me
  • Erin Davie, Grey Gardens
  • Xanthe Elbrick, Coram Boy
  • Johnny Galecki, The Little Dog Laughed
  • Jonathan Groff, Spring Awakening
  • Gavin Lee, Mary Poppins
  • Lin-Manuel Miranda, In the Heights
  • Bill Nighy, The Vertical Hour
  • Stark Sands, Journey's End
  • Nilaja Sun, No Child… A special award was also presented to The Actors' Fund in honor of its 125th anniversary.


    First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards are among the oldest theatrical awards. Traditionally, a committee of theatre writers chooses six men and six women. On occasion, the awards bestow a Special Theatre World Award on "performers, casts or others who have made a particularly lasting impression on the New York theatre scene," as stated on the official Theatre World Awards website. Honorees will be chosen by the Theatre World Awards committee, which includes Filichia (Theatermania), Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin' Broadway), Frank Scheck (New York Post), Michael Sommers (Newhouse Papers), Doug Watt (Critic Emeritus, New York Daily News) and Linda Winer (Newsday).

    For further information, visit

  • Today’s Most Popular News: