Wittman, Meehan, Champlin, Davenport and Viertel On NYMF Next Link Jury

News   Wittman, Meehan, Champlin, Davenport and Viertel On NYMF Next Link Jury
Tony Award-winning writers Scott Wittman and Thomas Meehan will serve on the grand jury for the New York Musical Theatre Festival's Next Link Project, which has extended its deadline through March 5.

In addition to Wittman (Hairspray, Catch Me If You Can) and Meehan (The Producers, Hairspray), the panel features Donna Lynne Champlin (Sweeney Todd, Hollywood Arms), Ken Davenport (Altar Boyz, Oleanna), musical director Kimberly Grigsby (Spring Awakening; Caroline, or Change), New World Stages executive director Beverley MacKeen and producer Jack Viertel (Hair, Fela, Spring Awakening).

NYMF executives have also extended the submission deadline (originally set for March 1) to March 5 at 6 PM ET.

The musicals presented in the Next Link Project benefit from the Next Link dramaturg team, as well as writer support resources, including industry networking and producer "matchmaking" events, and financial assistance through discounted technical support and waiving of production deposits.

Writers must provide a demo recording of their songs, a detailed synopsis of their show, a 15-page script sample (in addition to a complete script), lyrics to one song and, if applicable, proof of rights to adapt underlying material.

NYMF success stories include Next to Normal, [title of show], Altar Boyz, Yank!, The Great American Trailer Park Musical, The Big Voice: God or Merman, Captain Louie, Gutenberg! The Musical, Meet John Doe, Nerds:// A Musical Software Satire and Shout! The Mod Musical. For complete Next Link guidelines visit NYMF.

Today’s Most Popular News: