Wonderland Cast Album Gets May 3 Release

News   Wonderland Cast Album Gets May 3 Release
The 21-track Broadway cast album of Wonderland, the new musical that reinvents "Alice in Wonderland" for the 21st century, is released by Masterworks Broadway on May 3.


The musically eclectic score by composer Frank Wildhorn and lyricist Jack Murphy was recorded by the cast on March 6. The album is produced by Frank Wildhorn, David Lai and Jason Howland. A CD booklet includes color production photos, a message from Wildhorn and lyrics.

Previews for Wonderland. A New Alice. A New Musical began March 21 at the Marquis Theatre. It opened April 17. Co-book writer Gregory Boyd directs.

Masterworks Broadway has titled the cast album Wonderland — Alice Through A Whole New Looking Glass, while the Broadway show is called the more obvious, if cumbersome, Wonderland — A New Alice. A New Musical. After the opening, the branding will align (as Wonderland — Alice Through A Whole New Looking Glass).

According to the producers, "A new spin on the classic story of Alice and her Looking-Glass world, Wonderland is about a modern-day woman who goes on a life-changing adventure far below the streets of New York City, where a colorful cast of strange but familiar characters help her rediscover what's really important. Featuring a fresh, contemporary pop score from the creator of Jekyll and Hyde, Wonderland arrives on Broadway this spring following two sold-out national stage premieres."

Choreography is by Marguerite Derricks. Wonderland stars Janet Dacal (In the Heights) as Alice, Darren Ritchie (Little Shop of Horrors, Thoroughly Modern Millie) as White Knight, E. Clayton Cornelious (The Scottsboro Boys, A Chorus Line) as Caterpillar, Jose Llana (Spelling Bee, Flower Drum Song) as El Gato, Karen Mason (Hairspray, Mamma Mia!) as Queen of Hearts, Kate Shindle (Legally Blonde, Cabaret, Jekyll and Hyde) as Mad Hatter, Carly Rose Sonenclar (Les Misérables, Little House on the Prairie) as Chloe, Edward Staudenmayer (Spamalot, Martin Short: Fame Becomes Me) as White Rabbit and Danny Stiles (regional productions of Guys and Dolls and Sister Act: The Musical) as Morris.

The ensemble includes April Berry, Grady McLeod Bowman, Joey Calveri, Sae La Chin, Mallauri Esquibel, Derek Ferguson, Wilkie Ferguson, Laura Hall, Natalie Hill, Lauren Lim Jackson, Morgan James, Ryan Link, Kate Loprest, Renee Marino, Heather Parcells, Stefan Raulston, Julius Anthony Rubio and Tanairi Vasquez.

The track list includes Overture, "Home," "Down the Rabbit Hole," "Welcome to Wonderland," "Drink Me," "Advice From a Caterpillar," "Go With the Flow," "One Knight," "Mad Tea Party," "The Mad Hatter," "Hail the Queen," "Home" (reprise), "A Nice Little Walk," "Through the Looking Glass," "I Will Prevail," "I Am My Own Invention," "Off With Their Heads," "Once More I Can See," "Together," "Heroes," "Finding Wonderland."

Read Playbill.com's earlier Brief Encounter interview with Tony Award nominee Frank Wildhorn, composer of Jekyll & Hyde, The Scarlet Pimpernel, The Civil War, Camille Claudel and more.

Masterworks Broadway is a label of Sony Masterworks. For email updates and information on Masterworks Broadway, visit www.masterworksbroadway.com. For more information on the musical, visit www.WonderlandOnBroadway.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: