York Theatre Company Presents 4@15: Four New 15-Minute Musicals April 18 and 19

News   York Theatre Company Presents 4@15: Four New 15-Minute Musicals April 18 and 19
As previously announced, the York Theatre Company — in partnership with the University of California, Irvine's New York Satellite Program — will present 4@15: Four New 15-Minute Musicals April 18 and 19 at the Theatre at St. Peter's Church.

Six writers have penned four original musicals, which will be performed by the 32 students in the university's program. Authors include Jim Colleran, Miriam Daly and the teams of Sophia Chapadjiev and Allison Leyton-Brown, and Robby Stamper and Arianna Rose.

Brian Blythe directs. Show times are April 18 at 7:30 PM and April 19 at 2:30 PM.

Details about the four musicals — including casting — follows:

  • Dream Teen (book and lyrics by Arianna Rose, music by Robby Stamper) takes "an affectionate look back at the 1970s through the slightly askew lens of a beauty pageant in Santa Clara, California." The cast features Darin Arntson, Katie Deshan, Shawn Jones, Alana Lefkowitz, Carla Ogden, Max Smythe and Randyll Wendl.


  • Go Girls Go (book, music and lyrics by Jim Colleran) concerns "Avarissa and the Go Girls [who] are the hottest, sassiest act on kids' TV, the envy of tween girls nationwide. But tonight during their televised concert promoting 'Go Girls 3: Go Girls Go to College,' Avarissa encounters an unexpected spiritual guide who forces her to reconsider the Go Girls' definition of 'Girl Power.'" The cast features Hannah Bornstein, Maureen Chesus, Ricco Fajardo, Courtney Goldman, Garrett Mendez, Aysha Wax and Mazie Wilson.
  • Never Let It Go (book, music and lyrics by Miriam Daly) involves "a witch who steals hearts, a prince turned into a talking bird and a spell of forgetfulness." The cast features Ryan Farnsworth, Alex Hoff, Ariana Lambdin, Zachary Reiner-Harris, Shoshana Seid-Green, Denver Vaughn and Perry Young.
  • The Theory of Kiss (book and lyrics by Sophia Chapadjiev, music by Allison Leyton-Brown) follows "two level-headed scientists, Scientist Claire and Scientist Ray, [who] become afraid of their own findings when testing the Theory of Kiss." The cast features Andreas de Rond, Natasha Harris, Kelly Hinkle, Amanda Kramer, Michael Morales, Kara Rooney and John Walbolt. After their appearances in New York, the cast will repeat their performance April 25 at Smith Hall at UC Irvine's School of the Arts.

    The Theatre at St. Peter's Church is located on 54th Street, just east of Lexington Avenue. There is a suggested donation of $5. For reservations call (212) 935-5824, ext. 21.

    For more information visit www.yorktheatre.org.

  • Today’s Most Popular News: