Young Jimmy Award Finalists To Perform Final Performances on the Broadway Stage Tonight

News   Young Jimmy Award Finalists To Perform Final Performances on the Broadway Stage Tonight
The 52 high-school students who make up the finalists of the National High School Musical Theatre Awards/Jimmy Awards are performing at a ceremony at the Minskoff Theatre in New York City on June 29, hosted by Tony winning actress Sutton Foster. 

Now in its seventh year, the event sees more than 50,000 students from over 1,000 high schools throughout the country compete for a chance to travel to Manhattan, where they are housed in the NYU dorms and given the opportunity to rehearse with theatre professionals in the lead up to the finals. The coaches that the students work with are all adjuncts or taught through the tutelage of Tony nominee Michael McElroy, head of Vocal Performance at New Studio on Broadway.

Read about their experiences on through student bloggers Audrey McKee and Alec Michael.

NHSMTA finalists have prepared for their Broadway debut during a five-day professional training intensive with NYU Tisch School of the Arts' New Studio on Broadway faculty members among other theatre professionals.

Winners will be selected by a panel of judges composed of notable theatre professionals including Kent Gash fromNew Studio on Broadway and NYU Tisch School of the Arts Department of Drama.

The event, which is now being overseen by the Broadway League Foundation for the first time, aims to raise the profile of musical theatre in schools, recognize dedicated teachers and inspire the next generation of performers and enthusiasts. Student performers qualify to compete in the national program by winning top honors at regional high school musical theatre awards competitions. "We look forward to our connection with the thousands of young adults who are competing and keeping them in the Broadway family," the Broadway League's president Charlotte St. Martin told earlier in the year. "Whether they become lifelong Broadway theatregoers or industry professionals, they will preserve and enhance the future of musical theater."

Visit NHSMTA for more information about the National High School Musical Theatre Awards.

The full list of 2015 nominees is below:

City, State

Best Actor Nominee

Best Actress Nominee

Atlanta, GA

Nick Eibler

McKenzie Kurtz

Charlotte, NC

Justin Norwood

Lauren Hunkele

Chicago, IL

Ben Love

Grace Etzkorn

Dallas, TX

Chris Clark

Katelyn Cave

Denver, CO

Evatt Salinger

Emma Buchanan

Des Moines, IA

Lincoln Ginsberg

Jessica Martens

Durham, NC

Alex Fernandez

Faith Jones

East Lansing, MI

Aleksander Papanastasopoulos

Maddy Mathias

Houston, TX

Alec Michael Ryan

Audrey McKee

Kansas City, MO

Austin Dalgleish

Maggie Marx

Las Vegas, NV

Deylan Dean

Courtney Neistadt

Logan, UT

Jordan Kirkham

Abby Watts

Los Angeles, CA

Josh Velez

Brianna Bryan

Madison, WI

Rayven Burdette

Emily Matt

Memphis, TN

Maclean Mayers

Erica Peninger

Mission Viejo, CA

Anthony Skillman

Morgan Higgins

New York, NY

Ryan Koerber

Marla Louissaint

Norwich, CT


Zac Gottschall

Chiara Giampietro

Omaha, NE

Marcel Daley

Emma Brown

Pittsburgh, PA

Larry McKay

Marnie Quick

Rochester, NY

Noah Barnes

Molly Feldman

San Antonio, TX

Travis Anderson

Sabrina Uriegas

San Diego, CA Tucson, AZ

Gino Cocchi

Catherine Ames

San Jose, CA

Sam O’Byrne

Perry Borders

Seattle, WA

Andrew Henson

Hannah Sulak

Tampa, FL

Kamari Saxon

Kylie Heyman

Today’s Most Popular News: