Broadway Siblings Megan and Robert Fairchild Among 71st Annual Theatre World Award Winners

News   Broadway Siblings Megan and Robert Fairchild Among 71st Annual Theatre World Award Winners
Brother and sister Megan Fairchild (On the Town) and Robert Fairchild (An American in Paris) were named among winners of the 71st Annual Theatre World Awards. The awards themselves will be handed out in a June 1 ceremony at Broadway's Lyric Theatre.

A spokesperson for the awards said this is the first time siblings have won the award in the same year, and the first time both a brother and sister from the same family earned the award.

Each year the Theatre World Awards recognize six men and six women who made outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway debuts during the previous season.

Megan Fairchild in <i>On the Town</i>
Megan Fairchild in On the Town Photo by Joan Marcus

Here is a complete list of this year's winners:

Geneva Carr, Hand to God
Megan Fairchild, On The Town
Sydney Lucas, Fun Home
Karen Pittman, Disgraced
Emily Skeggs, Fun Home
Ruth Wilson, Constellations
Daveed Diggs, Hamilton
Robert Fairchild, An American In Paris
Collin Kelly-Sordelet, The Last Ship
Benjamin Scheuer, The Lion
Alex Sharp, The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time
Micah Stock, It's Only A Play

The 7th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence, honoring an Outstanding Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production, will be presented by Dame Diana Rigg to Leanne Cope for her performance as Lise in An American in Paris.

Robert Fairchild and Leanne Cope
Robert Fairchild and Leanne Cope Photo by Matthew Murphy

Theatre journalist Peter Filichia will once again host the ceremony, which will take place at the theatre that houses the Broadway revival of On the Town. It was chosen in honor of the original On the Town, whose co-author Betty Comden won one of the inaugural Theatre World Awards winners in 1945 for her performance as Claire De Loon.

First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards, founded by the late Daniel Blum, who originated the series with publisher Jae Greenberg, are the oldest awards given for Outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway debut performances. The Theatre World Awards are presented annually at the end of the theatre season to six actors and six actresses for "their significant, reviewable, debut performances in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production."

The Theatre World Award winners were chosen by the Theatre World Awards Committee that includes Roma Torre (NY1), David Cote (Time Out New York and NY1), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News), Peter Filichia (The Newark Star-Ledger, Emeritus), Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin’ Broadway) and Frank Scheck (New York Post).

The John Willis Award is given for lifetime achievement in the theatre to honor the man who created and maintained the Theatre World tradition for 67 years, encouraging new talent.

The Theatre World Awards, Inc. Board of Directors is headed by Dale Badway (President) with Tom Lynch (Vice-President), Stephen Wilde (Secretary), Tabitha Falcone (Treasurer), Ken Mahoney and Michael Kostel. For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: