Carole King, Cicely Tyson, Rita Moreno and More Named 2015 Kennedy Center Honorees

News   Carole King, Cicely Tyson, Rita Moreno and More Named 2015 Kennedy Center Honorees
The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts announced July 15 the selection of individuals who will receive the 2015 Kennedy Center Honors.

Recipients to be honored at the 38th annual national celebration of the arts are singer-songwriter Carole King, actresses Cicely Tyson and Rita Moreno, filmmaker George Lucas, conductor Seiji Ozawa and rock group the Eagles.

Rita Moreno
Rita Moreno

The Kennedy Center Honors recognizes the extraordinary and unparalleled talents of individuals whose impact and genius have left an indelible mark on civilization,” stated Kennedy Center Chairman David M. Rubenstein. “Quite simply, our Honorees represent the voices, soundtracks, and stories of our personal lives and memories. The music of the Eagles has endured as the quintessential American rock 'n' roll sound for generations; Carole King’s heartfelt lyrics and tunes are woven throughout the tapestry of American music; George Lucas’ films have enriched our world with stories of epic adventure; Rita Moreno’s iconic spitfire roles are embedded in the heart of American culture; Seiji Ozawa’s artistic leadership as a conductor has set a new standard for orchestras around the world; and Cicely Tyson’s range of strong female roles on stage and screen have broken boundaries for women of color.”

King is also the subject of the Broadway show, Beautiful: The Carole King Musical. Moreno and Tyson are both Tony Award winners, Moreno for The RitzA Trip to Bountiful.

On Dec. 6, in a star-studded celebration on the Kennedy Center Opera House stage, the 2015 Honorees will be saluted by great performers from New York, Hollywood, and the arts capitals of the world. Seated with the President of the United States and Mrs. Obama, the Honorees will accept the thanks of their peers and fans through performances and heartfelt tributes.

The Kennedy Center Honors medallions will be presented Dec. 5, the night before the gala.

The Honors Gala will be recorded for broadcast on the CBS Network for the 38th consecutive year as a two-hour primetime special on Dec. 29 at 9 PM ET.

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: