Seth Rudetsky's Disaster! Musical Headed for Broadway with Adam Pascal and Faith Prince

News   Seth Rudetsky's Disaster! Musical Headed for Broadway with Adam Pascal and Faith Prince
Theatre personality (and Playbill columnist) Seth Rudetsky will soon have two new titles: Broadway librettist and Broadway star. Rudetsky and Jack Plotnick's musical Disaster!, a parody of 1970's disaster movies which ran Off-Broadway in 2012 and 2013, has booked Broadway's Nederlander Theatre for a March 2016 opening with an all-star cast.

Directed by Plotnick, with a book by Rudetsky and Plotnick, Disaster! will star Tony winner Roger Bart, Tony nominee Kerry Butler, Tony nominee Kevin Chamberlin, Tony nominee Adam Pascal, Tony winner Faith Prince, Drama Desk winner Rachel York, Drama Desk nominee Jennifer Simard, Max Crumm, Lacretta Nicole—and Rudetsky himself.

Adam Pascal
Adam Pascal

The score for Disaster! features a songbook of memorable pop, rock and disco hits of the 1970's, including "Hot Stuff," "I Am Woman," "Knock On Wood" and "Daybreak."

Disaster! begins previews Feb. 9, 2016, and officially opens March 8, 2016.


It's described thus in press notes: "Just when you thought it was safe to go back to the theatre comes Broadway’s new musical comedy Disaster! Earthquakes, tidal waves, infernos and rampant wildlife can’t stop an outrageous cast of characters from dancing, gambling and singing the night away aboard New York’s first floating casino and discothèque."

Rudetsky told exclusively, "Ever since I read Charles Busch's book 'Whores of Lost Atlantis,' I've always wanted to write a show and perform in it, surrounded by my friends. Well, it's happened!! I co-wrote Disaster! with my friend Jack, whom I've known since 1991, and everyone in the show is a friend from forever ago! I've known Faith since the early 90's (we have the same therapist!). And Kerry and I have known each other since we were in a kids nightclub in the 80's. Yes, she's younger than me. I could go through the whole cast but the point is this is a dream come true!"

The Disaster! design team includes JoAnn M. Hunter (School of Rock–The Musical) creating the choreography, Tony Award nominee Tobin Ost (Newsies) designing sets, six-time Tony Award winner William Ivey Long (The Producers, Hairspray) designing costumes and Tony Award winner Jeff Croiter (Peter and the Starcatcher) designing the lighting.

Additional cast and design team will be announced shortly.

Rudetsky and the original Off-Broadway company of <i>Disaster!</i>
Rudetsky and the original Off-Broadway company of Disaster! Photo by Jeremy Daniel

Disaster! originated at the Triad Theatre Off-Broadway for a two-month run in 2012. It reopened in a more fully designed production at another Off-Broadway venue, St. Luke's Theatre, for a six-month run in 2013.

Tickets go on presale to members of Audience Rewards ( Nov. 16-20. Tickets go on sale to the general public beginning Nov. 20 at 10 AM via or by calling (877) 250-2929.

Disaster! is being produced by Robert Ahrens, Mickey Liddell/LD Entertainment, Hunter Arnold, James Wesley and Jim Burba & Bob Hayes in association with Katherine McGregor, Mary J. Davis and Stephen CuUnjieng.

Today’s Most Popular News: