"24" Presidents Serve Successive Terms on Broadway

PlayBlog   "24" Presidents Serve Successive Terms on Broadway
[caption id="attachment_7324" align="alignright" width="200" caption="Gregory Itzin, Dennis Haysbert and Cherry Jonesphotos © FOX"]bway24prez200[/caption]

Gregory Itzin — well-known for his turn as the sinister President Charles Logan on television's "24" — may have had his Broadway term cut short in the recently closed Broadway run of Enron, but his fictional contemporaries will soon fill his seat.

Dennis Haysbert — who played President David Palmer on the FOX series opposite star Kiefer Sutherland — was just announced to assume the role David Alan Grier originated in David Mamet's Race on Broadway (June 15-Aug. 21). The actor and playwright have also teamed before on the Mamet-created series "The Unit."

As if two former "24" leaders weren't enough, stage stalwart Cherry Jones — who currently fills the role of President Allison Taylor for the show's final season — was also announced to make her return to the Broadway stage. Jones will star in the Roundabout Theatre Company's revival of George Bernard Shaw's Mrs. Warren's Profession on Broadway beginning Sept. 3.

Today’s Most Popular News: