25 Playwrights Contribute to Today's After Orlando Reading in NY

News   25 Playwrights Contribute to Today's After Orlando Reading in NY
The new works will get readings in New York City and subsequently will be published.
Neil LaBute
Neil LaBute Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Missing Bolts Productions and NoPassport Theatre Alliance and Press have curated a collection of new plays from a mix of noted playwrights around the world in response to the mass shooting at Orlando's Pulse Nightclub on June 12.

The plays are being presented in New York City readings November 13 and 20, and around the U.S. They will be published in a collection entitled After Orlando by NoPassport Press (Dreaming the Americas Series). The November 13 reading is being held at 8 PM at D-Lounge, 101 East 15th Street, Manhattan. Order tickets here.

Contributing artists include Neil LaBute (Reasons to be Pretty, Broadway); Anders Lustgarten (Lampedusa, Soho Theatre, London); Mia Chung (You for Me for You, Royal Court Theatre); Deborah Zoe Laufer (Informed Consent, Primary Stages); Caridad Svich (The House of Spirits, Denver Center); Rohina Malik (Unveiled, Victory Gardens Theatre); Oliver Mayer (Blade to the Heat, Public Theater); Winter Miller (In Darfur, Public Theater); Ken Urban (The Correspondent, Rattlestick Theatre); EM Lewis (Heads, Blank Theatre); Amina Henry (Animals, JACK); Migdalia Cruz (Miriam’s Flowers, Latino Chicago Theatre Company); Matthew Paul Olmos (2015 National Latino Playwriting Award), Saviana Stanescu (Aliens with Extraordinary Skills, Women’s Project Theater); Chiori Miyagawa (American Dreaming, Vineyard Theatre); Zac Kline (Messed Up Here Tonight, Renovations Theatre Company); Sung Rno (Cleveland Raining; Silk Road Rising Theatre); Stephen Sewell (The Gates of Egypt, Belvoir St. Theatre); Anne Rumberger (Writer and publicist, Verso Books); Deborah Asiimwe (Cooking Oil, CalArts); Lisa Schlesinger (Celestial Bodies, Gets Theatre Chicago); Jessica Litwak (My Heart is in the East, La Mama ETC); Crystal Skillman (King Kirby, The Brick); Katie Pearl (Milton with PearlDamour); Jeremy O. Harris (Xander Xyst, Dragon: 1, Samuel French OOB Festival) Eric Mayer-Garcia (Louisiana State University); Ian Rowlands (Blink, national tour Wales and 59E59); Jacqueline E. Lawton (The Hampton Years, Virginia Stage Company) with more to be announced.

Blair Baker and Zac Kline, artistic directors of Missing Bolts Productions, stated, “As theatremakers, we have the ability to bring together many singular unique voices toward a common goal. We feel it is necessary to give artists a place to respond to the tragedy in Orlando and the current state of the world. We have invited some of the most admired theatre artists worldwide to participate; to share our grief, our anger, our hope and our desire to combat the violence we are now living with on a daily basis.”

NoPassport founder Caridad Svich added, “Making some healing art, some fiery art, some work that just says we can rise up from and through collective mourning.”

For more information visit www.missingbolts.com and www.nopassport.org.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: