70 Artists Set for Cabaret Convention, Saluting Sondheim, Harnick and Strouse

News   70 Artists Set for Cabaret Convention, Saluting Sondheim, Harnick and Strouse
Maureen McGovern will be honored.
Stephen Sondheim
Stephen Sondheim

The Mabel Mercer Foundation will present the 2016 Cabaret Convention October 18-21 at the Rose Theater, Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall.

More than 70 singers are scheduled to appear at the 27th annual event, and the convention will include tributes to the songs of Stephen Sondheim, the lyrics of Sheldon Harnick, the melodies of Charles Strouse and the repertoire of the late, legendary jazz artist Sylvia Syms.

The lineup follows:
Tuesday, October 18: Gala Opening Night, hosted by KT Sullivan. With Matt Baker, Stefan Bednarczyk, Christina Bianco, Carole J. Bufford, Natalie Douglas, Barbara Fasano, Eric Yves Garcia, Allan Harris, Maxine Linehan, Kristoffer Lowe, Kelly McDonald, Maureen McGovern, Karen Oberlin, Vivian Reed, T. Oliver Reid, Kim David Smith, Jacob Storms, Stacy Sullivan and Susan Winter. Presentation of The Donald F. Smith Award, underwritten by Adela & Larry Elow, to Maureen McGovern.

Wednesday, October 19: Saluting Stephen Sondheim, hosted by Jeff Harnar and Andrea Marcovicci. With Karen Akers, Raissa Katona Bennett, Celia Berk, Kevin Dozier, Eric Michael Gillett, Sally Mayes, Donna McKechnie, Aaron Morishito, Marissa Mulder, Sidney Myer, Anthony Nunziata, Will Nunziata, Sarah Rice, Julie Reyburn, Steve Ross, Marta Sanders, Josephine Sanges, Jennifer Sheehan, Maureen Taylor and Iris Williams.

Thursday, October 20: Saluting Sylvia Syms, hosted by Rex Reed. With Joyce Breach, Ann Hampton Callaway, Barbara Carroll, Tedd Firth, Maud Hixson, Nicolas King, Jay Leonhart, Marilyn Maye, Sue Raney, Daryl Sherman, Billy Stritch, Carol Woods and Tom Wopat. With special guest stars.

Friday, October 21: Saluting Sheldon Harnick and Charles Strouse, hosted by Klea Blackhurst. With Corinna Sowers-Adler, Broadway by the Year Chorus, Eric Comstock, Scott Coulter, Robert Creighton, Joshua Dixon, Shana Farr, Liam Forde, Penny Fuller, Zoe Gelman, Anita Gillette, Valerie Lemon, Stearns Matthews, Marieann Meringolo, Todd Murray, Liz Robertson, Shawn Ryan, Lauren Stanford, Joanne Tatham, and Amra-Faye Wright. Presentation of The Julie Wilson Award, underwritten by Linda and Peter Hanson. Presentation of The Margaret Whiting Award, underwritten by My Ideal Music.

For further information visit www.mabelmercer.org.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: