71st Annual Theatre World Award Announced Today – Chita Rivera Earns Lifetime Achievement Honor | Playbill

News 71st Annual Theatre World Award Announced Today – Chita Rivera Earns Lifetime Achievement Honor The 71st Annual Theatre World Awards will be announced May 5, and the awards themselves will be handed out in a June 1 ceremony at Broadway's Lyric Theatre.

Chita Rivera
Chita Rivera Photo by Laura Marie Duncan

Theatre journalist Peter Filichia will once again host the ceremony, which will take place at the theatre that houses the Broadway revival of On the Town. It was chosen in honor of the original On the Town, whose co-author Betty Comden won one of the inaugural Theatre World Awards winners in 1945 for her performance as Claire De Loon.

The June 1 ceremony will also honor The Visit star Chita Rivera, who will get the 2015 John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre.

Each year the Theatre World Awards recognize six men and six women who made outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway debuts during the previous season. Their 7th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater for an Outstanding Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway Production will also be announced May 5.

First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards, founded by the late Daniel Blum, who originated the series with publisher Jae Greenberg, are the oldest awards given for Outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway debut performances. The Theatre World Awards are presented annually at the end of the theatre season to six actors and six actresses for "their significant, reviewable, debut performances in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production."

The Theatre World Award winners were chosen by the Theatre World Awards Committee that includes Roma Torre (NY1), David Cote (Time Out New York and NY1), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News), Peter Filichia (The Newark Star-Ledger, Emeritus), Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin’ Broadway) and Frank Scheck (New York Post). The John Willis Award is given for lifetime achievement in the theatre to honor the man who created and maintained the Theatre World tradition for 67 years, encouraging new talent.

The Theatre World Awards, Inc. Board of Directors is headed by Dale Badway (President) with Tom Lynch (Vice-President), Stephen Wilde (Secretary), Tabitha Falcone (Treasurer), Ken Mahoney and Michael Kostel. For more information visit Theatreworldawards.org.

{asset::caption} {asset::credit}

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!