A Chorus Line Album Gets 40th Anniversary Re-Release With Bonus Tracks of Deleted and Rewritten Songs | Playbill

News A Chorus Line Album Gets 40th Anniversary Re-Release With Bonus Tracks of Deleted and Rewritten Songs
Never-before-heard songs "Joanne" and "Shoes" and alternate versions of well-known songs from A Chorus Line will be included among eight bonus tracks on the 40th anniversary re-release of the show's original Broadway cast album, scheduled for Oct. 23 from Sony.

Titled "A Chorus Line—40th Anniversary Celebration," the recording introduces a new high-resolution (24/96) master of the original cast recording, taken from the surround-sound remix created for Super Audio CD (SACD) and previously available only in that format.

Bonus tracks include recordings made during the show's workshop period, and feature composer Marvin Hamlisch and lyricist Ed Kleban performing demos of their first drafts of the score for director Michael Bennett. In some cases the songs were later cut, includine "Joanne," "Shoes," and "It's All in Here." In some cases, the tracks include early versions of songs "I Can Do That" (a choral number here) and "At the Ballet." Among the bonus tracks is an instrumental titled "Finale Ballad" which Hamlisch scat-sings. With lyrics added later, it became "What I Did For Love."


The package will include an expanded booklet with new liner notes by Oskar Eustis (artistic director of The Public Theater in New York), Terre Blair Hamlisch, Linda Kline (co-bookwriter of A Class Act) and Robert Viagas (managing editor of Playbill.com and co-author of the book "On the Line: The Creation of A Chorus Line").

The album will be released Oct. 23 on CD, as downloads in enhanced audio formats and via streaming audio providers. The album will also be released in a new audiophile vinyl LP edition. Cut from high-resolution files by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio and manufactured on 180-gram vinyl at Memphis Record Pressing, the set will include a digital download card redeemable for the entire 40th Anniversary Celebration set. You can pre-order the CD here, pre-order the digital download here and pre-order the vinyl record here.

A perennial best-seller and 1975 Grammy nominee for Best Musical Show Recording, A Chorus Line was also the last of the great original cast albums produced by Columbia Records’ Goddard Lieberson, producer of dozens of classic OBCs including West Side Story.

Here is a complete track list:

1. Opening: "I Hope I Get It" - Company
2. "I Can Do That" - Wayne Cilento
3. "At The Ballet" - Carole Bishop, Nancy Lane, Kay Cole
4. "Sing!" - Renee Baughman, Don Percassi
5. "Montage, Part 1: Hello Twelve, Hello Thirteen, Hello Love" - Company (with restored material featuring Cameron Mason and Baayork Lee)
6. "Montage, Part 2: Mother" - Ron Kuhlman, Patricia Garland
7. "Montage, Part 3: Gimme The Ball" - Michel Stuart, Ronald Dennis
8. "Nothing" - Priscilla Lopez
9. "Dance: Ten; Looks: Three" - Pamela Blair
10. "The Music And The Mirror" - Donna McKechnie
11. "One" - Company
12. "What I Did For Love" - Priscilla Lopez, Company
13. "One" (reprise)/"Finale" - Company

Marvin Hamlisch, piano, vocals
Ed Kleban, vocals

14. "It’s All In Here"
15. "I Can Do That"
16. "At The Ballet"
17. "Sing!"
18. "Joanne"
19. "Shoes"
20. "One"
21. "Finale Ballad" ("What I Did For Love")

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!