Actors' Equity Announces Council Election Results; Zimmerman, Price Re-Elected | Playbill

Related Articles
News Actors' Equity Announces Council Election Results; Zimmerman, Price Re-Elected Mark Zimmerman has been re-elected president and Paige Price re-elected first vice president of Actors' Equity Association, the union of professional stage actors and stage managers announced June 4.

Nineteen members were also elected to serve three, four or five year terms on the National Council, the union's governing body.

These members represent Principals, Chorus and Stage Managers nationwide.

Both Zimmerman and Price had been elected in the fall of 2006 to fill the two slots. The positions had become vacant due to a move by the late president Patrick Quinn to the position of executive director, a role he was to assume in October.

According to the union's Constitution, Zimmerman and Paige served until this spring, when they ran for reelection. Both officers, who ran unopposed, will now complete the term of office, which lasts until spring 2009.

Equity is divided into three geographic regions — Eastern, Central and Western. The number of representatives each region has on Council is determined by the proportion of members in each region and the percentage of those members working under the principal, chorus or stage manager contracts. Of the 19 seats open in this election, 11 were available in the Eastern region, one in the Central region and seven in the Western region. In the Eastern region, Christine Toy Johnson, Margot Moreland, Paul V. Ames, Ira Denmark and Thomas Jay Miller were elected in the Principal category for five-year terms and Bob Knapp for a four-year term. In the Eastern chorus category, Jeffrey Bateman and Roger Preston Smith will serve five-year terms and Craig A. Meyer will serve a three-year term. Eastern Stage Managers elected to a five-year term are Lisa Jo Snodgrass and John Atherlay.

David Girolmo is elected to a five-year Principal term in the Central Region.

The Western Region elected the following individuals: Kate Burton, Jennie Ford, Barbara N. Roberts and Joseph Ruskin — all for five-year Principal terms; Cynthia Marty and Jane A. Johnson for three-year Principal terms and Michael Dotson for a five-year Chorus term.

Actors' Equity Association, founded in 1913, represents more than 45,000 actors and stage managers in the United Stages.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!