Actors’ Equity Association’s National Council Election Results Announced

Industry News   Actors’ Equity Association’s National Council Election Results Announced
Kate Shindle, who ran without opposition, remains president of the acting union.
Kate Shindle Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The results of Actors’ Equity Association's 2018 National Council election have been announced.

Jennifer Cody

In total, 55 Council seats across all three regions (Eastern, Central, and Western) representing three categories (principal actor, chorus actor, and stage manager) were filled for the union, which represents more than 51,000 professional stage actors and stage managers.

The results are effective immediately.

Four officers ran without opposition: President Kate Shindle, 3rd Vice President Ira Mont, Secretary/Treasurer Sandra Karas, Central Regional Vice President Dev Kennedy, and Western Regional Vice President Doug Carfrae.

Melissa Robinette was elected 1st Vice President (Principal). Jennifer Cody was elected 2nd Vice President (Chorus), and Sid Solomon was elected Eastern Regional Vice President.

In the Eastern Region, the following candidates were elected Eastern Region Principal Councillor: Stephen Bogardus, Diane Davis, Brandon J. Dirden, Nicole Flender, Adam Green, Dee Hoty, James Ludwig, John McGinty, Maureen Moore, Margot Moreland, Bobby Moreno, Diane Nicole, Kate O’Phalen, Lee Osorio, Judy Rice, Nikki Switzer, Allyson Tucker, and Kristen Beth Williams.

The following candidates were elected Eastern Region Chorus Councillor: Joanne Borts, Jonathan Brody, Todd Buonopane, Karen Elliott, Matthew J. Kilgore, Justin Peck, Jennifer Swiderski, and Lauren Villegas. Those elected to the Eastern Region Stage Manager Councillor include Marjorie Horne, Ruth E. Kramer, Bernita Robinson, and Amanda Spooner.


In the Central Region, Madeleine Fallon and Michael A. Newcomer were elected Central Region Principal Councillor, and Ariane Dolan was elected Central Region Chorus Councillor. Malcolm D. Ewen was unopposed and deemed elected Central Stage Manager Councillor.

In the Western Region, those elected Western Region Principal Councillor include Nancy Daly, Michael Dotson, Mary-Pat Green, Kelly Ground, Brooke Ishibashi, Kevin McMahon, Gregory North, Arianna Ortiz, Barbara N. Roberts, and DeBorah Sharpe-Taylor. Kim Arnett was elected Western Region Chorus Councillor, while James T. McDermott and Jenifer A. Shenker were unopposed and deemed elected Western Stage Manager Councillor.

For more information, visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: