Alexander, Lauper, Redford and More to Be Part of Neil Simon Salute; PBS to Broadcast

News   Alexander, Lauper, Redford and More to Be Part of Neil Simon Salute; PBS to Broadcast
As previously announced, Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Neil Simon will receive the ninth annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.
Neil Simon
Neil Simon Photo by Aubrey Reuben

The Kennedy Center will present Simon with his award Oct. 15 at 8 PM in the Kennedy Center Concert Hall. The evening will feature the talents of Jason Alexander, Richard Dreyfus, Nathan Lane, Cyndi Lauper, Robert Redford, Paul Reiser, Mercedes Ruehl and Jonathan Silverman.

WETA Washington, D.C., will film the celebration, which will air on PBS stations around the country Nov. 20 at 9 PM ET; check local listings.

The Mark Twain Prize, according to press notes, recognizes "people who have had an impact on American society in ways similar to the distinguished 19th century novelist and essayist best known as Mark Twain. As a social commentator, satirist and creator of characters, Samuel Clemens was a fearless observer of society, who startled many while delighting and informing many more with his uncompromising perspective of social injustice and personal folly. He revealed the great truth of humor when he said 'against the assault of laughter nothing can stand.'"

Simon follows previous recipients Steve Martin, Richard Pryor, Jonathan Winters, Carl Reiner, Whoopi Goldberg, Bob Newhart, Lily Tomlin and Lorne Michaels.

In a recent statement Kennedy Center Chairman Stephen A. Schwarzman said, "Neil Simon, like Mark Twain, has a unique way of exposing the American spirit by drawing on experiences in his own life and creating insightful and touching portraits of the world around him." Awards recipient Simon countered, "I am awed, thrilled and delighted to receive The Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize . . . it makes up for my losing the Samuel Clemens Prize."

Neil Simon has authored more than 40 plays and is the recipient of three Tony Awards, a Pulitzer Prize, a Drama Desk Award, an American Comedy Award, a Golden Globe Award and the Kennedy Center Honors. Some of his best-known works include Barefoot in the Park and The Odd Couple, which were both back on Broadway this past season, as well as Chapter Two, Brighton Beach Memoirs, Biloxi Blues and Broadway Bound. He also contributed librettos to the musicals Sweet Charity; Promises, Promises; They're Playing Our Song; and The Goodbye Girl.

Tickets for the evening are available by calling (202) 467-4600 or (800) 444-1324. For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: