Anna Deavere Smith Among 2008 Matrix Award Recipients

News   Anna Deavere Smith Among 2008 Matrix Award Recipients
Fires in the Mirror and Twilight: Los Angeles 1992 playwright Anna Deavere Smith will be awarded the New York Women in Communication's Matrix Award on April 7, 2008 at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in Manhattan.
Anna Deavere Smith
Anna Deavere Smith

The New York Women in Communication's Matrix Awards honor the outstanding achievements of women within the communications industry. The 2007 "Women Who Change the World" honorees also include New York Times correspondent Linda Greenhouse; ABC News anchor Robin Roberts; Gourmet Magazine editor-in-chief Ruth Reichl; Disney-ABC Television Group president Anne Sweeney; Publicis advertising CEO Susan Gianinno; and Danielides Public Relations founder and president Joannie C. Danielides. Fashion designer and icon Diane von Furstenberg will be awarded a special Lifetime Achievement Award.

Anna Deavere Smith's work, which employs a journalistic approach to interview subjects in order to examine controversial events from diverse points of view, has earned the actress, playwright and professor great acclaim.

Her works include the Pulitzer Prize runner-up Fires in the Mirror: Crown Heights, Brooklyn and Other Identities; as well as the Tony nominated Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992; and House Arrest. Her books include "Young Artist: Straight-up Advice on Making a Life in the Arts — For Actors, Performers, Writers, and Artists of Every Kind" and "Talk to Me: Travels in Media & Politics." Smith's latest solo work Let Me Down Easy is slated for a bow at the Long Wharf Theatre Jan. 9-Feb. 3, 2008.

Previous Matrix recipients include Katie Couric, Meryl Streep, Nora Ephron, Ann Moore, Toni Morrison, Barbara Walters and Anna Quindlen.

Visit for further information.

Today’s Most Popular News: