"Anything Can Happen": Tonys Will Be "Raunchy" and "Revolutionary" with "Show People" | Playbill

Related Articles
News "Anything Can Happen": Tonys Will Be "Raunchy" and "Revolutionary" with "Show People" Four-time Tony Award winner Audra McDonald — who is nominated this season for her performance in the acclaimed revival of 110 in the Shade — will perform Tom Jones and Harvey Schmidt's "Raunchy" on the 61st Annual Tony Awards, which will be held June 10 at Radio City Music Hall.

Christine Ebersole in Grey Gardens.
Christine Ebersole in Grey Gardens. Photo by Joan Marcus

Playbill.com has also learned that Tony Award winner Christine Ebersole, nominated for her work in Grey Gardens, will sing Michael Korie and Scott Frankel's "The Revolutionary Costume for Today." The cast of the Tony-nominated Best Musical Spring Awakening will perform a medley of tunes from the Duncan Sheik-Steven Sater score, and the new Kander-Ebb-Holmes-Stone musical Curtains will perform "Show People." The final Best Musical nominee, Mary Poppins, will offer a medley of "Step in Time" (from the Sherman Brothers portion of the score) and "Anything Can Happen" (one of the new songs penned by Anthony Drewe and George Stiles).

The company of the hit revival of A Chorus Line will likely sing Marvin Hamlisch and Ed Kleban's "One," although that information could not be confirmed at press time. And, the New York Post recently reported that Tony nominee Raul Esparza will sing "Being Alive" from the Tony-nominated revival of Stephen Sondheim's Company.

"American Idol" winner Fantasia, who is currently starring in The Color Purple, will also lend her powerful vocals to the Tony telecast.

Those scheduled to present awards in the 25 Tony categories are Harry Connick, Jr.; Claire Danes; Jeff Daniels; Brian Dennehy; Carla Gugino; Neil Patrick Harris; Anne Heche; Marg Helgenberger; Judd Hirsch; Felicity Huffman; Melina Kanakaredes; Eddie Izzard; Jane Krakowski; Angela Lansbury; Robert Sean Leonard; John Mahoney; Audra McDonald; Cynthia Nixon; Bernadette Peters; David Hyde Pierce; Christopher Plummer; Liev Schreiber; Kevin Spacey; John Turturro; Usher; Sam Waterston; Vanessa Williams; Rainn Wilson; and the cast of Jersey Boys: Christian Hoff, Daniel Reichard, J. Robert Spencer and John Lloyd Young.

A spokesperson for the Tony Awards previously confirmed to Playbill.com that like last season, the ceremony will not have a host. Instead, the evening will be emceed by the various presenters. CBS-TV will broadcast the 2007 Tony Awards from 8-11 PM ET.

The Antoinette Perry "Tony" Awards are "bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement." The Tonys are presented by the League of American Theatres and Producers and the American Theatre Wing.

Tickets for the ceremony can be purchased online by visiting www.TonyAwards.com.

Audra McDonald and John Cullum in the Roundabout revival of <i>110 in the Shade</i>.
Audra McDonald and John Cullum in the Roundabout revival of 110 in the Shade. Photo by Joan Marcus

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!