Armitage, Blankenbuehler, Risch and Olivo Among 2009 Astaire Award Nominees

News   Armitage, Blankenbuehler, Risch and Olivo Among 2009 Astaire Award Nominees
Choreographers Karole Armitage and Andy Blankenbuehler as well as actors Matthew Risch and Karen Olivo have been nominated for the 2009 Fred & Adele Astaire Awards.
Matthew Risch
Matthew Risch

Tony winner Alan Cumming will host the awards ceremony June 1 in the Haft Auditorium at the Fashion Institute of Technology. Academy Award winner Liza Minnelli will present "Singin' in the Rain" and "On the Town" film director/choreographer Stanley Donen with the Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award as part of the ceremony.

Additional presenters for the 2009 Fred & Adele Astaire Awards include Geoffrey Rush, Bebe Neuwirth and Tony Danza. The 7:30 PM event will feature performances from the nominated dancers, productions and films.

The 2009 Fred & Adele Astaire Award nominees follow:

Andy Blankenbuehler, 9 to 5
Karole Armitage, Hair
Peter Darling, Billy Elliot
Sergio Trujillo, Guys and Dolls
Graciela Daniele, Pal Joey

Anthony Van Laast, "Mamma Mia"
Longines Fernandes, "Slumdog Millionaire"
Aakomon “AJ” Jones, "Center Stage Turn It Up"
Tracy Phillips, "Make It Happen"
Patrick De Bana and Pedro Gomes, "Fados"
Kenny Ortega, "High School Musical 3"
Todd Underwood, "Were the World Mine" BEST FEMALE DANCER:
Karen Olivo, West Side Story
Angel Reed, Katherine Tokarz and Savannah Wise, Rock Of Ages
Kearran Giovanni, Guys and Dolls
Pia Glenn, You’re Welcome America. A Final Night with George W Bush

David Alvarez, Trent Kowalik and Kiril Kulish, Billy Elliot
David Bologna and Frank Dolce, Billy Elliot
Jeffry Denman, White Christmas
Matthew Risch, Pal Joey

Established in 1982, the Fred & Adele Astaire Awards (formerly known as The Astaire Awards) recognize outstanding achievement in dance on Broadway each season. The award was established with the cooperation of Fred Astaire to honor him and his sister, Adele, who starred with her brother in ten Broadway musicals between 1917 and 1931.

Tickets range $75-$300. All proceeds benefit the Auditory Oral School of New York. Tickets and further information are available by visiting AstaireAwards.

Karen Olivo and the Shark Girls
Karen Olivo and the Shark Girls
Today’s Most Popular News: