Astaire Awards, Renamed, Return from Hiatus for 2008 Season

News   Astaire Awards, Renamed, Return from Hiatus for 2008 Season
The nominating committee has been announced for the forthcoming return — following a three-year hiatus — of the Fred & Adele Astaire Awards, formerly known as The Astaire Awards.

First presented in 1982, the name was changed "to reflect the original intent of the awards creators in honoring the famed brother and sister team," according to an announcement.

Winners will be announced in May and will be presented with their awards at a June 2 gala to benefit The Auditory Oral School of New York.

The group who will select "nominees from the best of Broadway and film performances and choreography this season" include dancer-choreographer director and National Dance Institute founder Jacques D'Amboise, New York Post senior theater & dance critic Clive Barnes, former New York Times chief dance critic Anna Kisselgoff, Dance Magazine's editor-in-chief Wendy Perron and theater columnist Sylviane Gold as well as Newsday chief theater critic Linda Winer.

Former New York Daily News senior drama critic Douglas Watt serves as Chairman Emeritus of the Nominating Committee. Honorary Chairs are Ava Astaire McKenzie and Richard McKenzie.

Previous winners of awards for choreography include George Balanchine, Michael Bennett, Patricia Birch, Wayne Cilento, Graciela Daniele, Bob Fosse, Peter Martins, Ann Reinking, Jerome Robbins, Susan Stroman and Tommy Tune.

Today’s Most Popular News: