Audra McDonald Named Recipient of Signature Theatre’s 10th Stephen Sondheim Award

Awards   Audra McDonald Named Recipient of Signature Theatre’s 10th Stephen Sondheim Award
McDonald will be celebrated at a gala benefit March 4.
Audra McDonald Michael Wilson

Virginia’s Signature Theatre will honor six-time Tony winner Audra McDonald with the company’s tenth Stephen Sondheim Award March 4 at a black-tie gala at the Embassy of Italy. The evening will benefit Signature Theatre’s artistic, education, and community programs.

Signature Theatre inaugurated The Stephen Sondheim Award in 2009 in recognition of the importance of Sondheim’s work to Signature and to theatre in general. The award is given to an individual for his or her career contributions to the American Musical Theatre along with interpreting, supporting, or collaborating on works by Sondheim.

“It is a great thrill to honor Audra and her amazing talents with this year’s Stephen Sondheim Award,” said Artistic Director Eric Schaeffer. “Her contributions to the American musical theatre have had a major impact on many of our lives. Her performances are iconic. Her passion is true. And her kindness is real. We look forward to celebrating Audra with this special award.”

Angela Lansbury, Bernadette Peters, Patti LuPone, Harold Prince, Jonathan Tunick, James Lapine, John Weidman, Sir Cameron Mackintosh, and John Kander have previosuly been awarded the honor.

McDonald's Tony Award-winning performances include Carousel, Master Class, Ragtime, A Raisin in the Sun, The Gershwins’ Porgy and Bess, and Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill. She has interpreted the work of Sondheim in the PBS concert stagings of Passion, Sweeney Todd, Sondheim! The Birthday Concert, and HBO’s Six by Sondheim and has recorded his music and lyrics on many of her solo albums.

For more information about sponsorship and tickets, contact Ashley Richardson, Donor Services Manager at (571) 527-1828 or


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store