Babatunde, Gurira and Zambello Win NAACP Theatre Awards

News   Babatunde, Gurira and Zambello Win NAACP Theatre Awards
The Old Globe Theatre production of Sammy, The First Wives Club and Danai Gurira's Eclipsed took home honors at the NAACP Theatre Awards, which were presented Aug. 30 at the Director's Guild of America in Hollywood.

LisaRaye McCoy hosted the 20th annual awards ceremony, which also presented awards to the following distinguished honorees: Kenny Leon (Trailblazer Award), Wren T. Brown (Community Service Award) and Kim Sentovich (President’s Award). The NAACP Awards "honor thespians of color among the best in the field of entertainment."

Highlights of the NAACP Theatre Awards follow (winners in bold with an asterisk):

Best Producer— Equity
The First Wives Club – The Old Globe
EclipsedCenter Theatre Group
*Sammy – The Old Globe

Best Ensemble Cast— Equity
Sarafina! A story of Liberation

Best Lead Female— Equity
Monty Python’s Spamalot – Marle Dandridge
*Stormy Weather – Nikki Crawford
Stormy WeatherLeslie Uggams Best Supporting Male— Equity
*The Cherry Orchard – Marc Ewing
Stormy Weather – Phillip Attmore
Stormy Weather – Cleavant Derricks

Best Supporting Female— Equity
*Baby It’s You! – Erica Ash
Baby It’s You! – Berlando Drake
Sammy – Ann Duquesnay

Best Director of a Musical— Equity
*The First Wives Club – Francesca Zambello
Sarafina! A Story of Liberation – Stephan Terry
Sammy – Keith Glover

Best Choreographer—Equity
Sarafina! A Story of Liberation—Cassie Crump and Alfred Johnson
*Baby It’s You!—Brigitte Mutrux
Sammy—Keith Young

Best Lead Male—Equity
The First Wives Club—Kevyn Morrow
*Sammy—Obba Babatunde
The Cherry Orchard—Steven Matt

Best Playwright—Equity
*Eclipsed—Danai Gurira
Sarafina! A Story of Liberation—Mbongeni Mgema
Sammy—Leslie Bricusse

Best Director—Equity
Sarafina! A Story of Liberation—Denise Dowse
*Eclipsed—Robert O’Hara
Black Women—State of the Union—Nataki Garrett and Ayana Cahrr

For a complete list of nominees visit BHWDNAACP.

Today’s Most Popular News: