Ben Davis, Elena Shaddow, Anthony Fedorov, Edward Hibbert, Donna English Among Cast of Paper Mill's Sound of Music | Playbill

News Ben Davis, Elena Shaddow, Anthony Fedorov, Edward Hibbert, Donna English Among Cast of Paper Mill's Sound of Music
Tony Award recipient Ben Davis, television star Edward Hibbert, "American Idol" finalist Anthony Fedorov and Elena Shaddow are among the cast of Paper Mill Playhouse's production of the Tony-winning musical The Sound of Music, which will begin performances Nov. 23 in Milburn, NJ.

Elena Shaddow
Elena Shaddow

James Brennan (Jubilee, Sally) will direct and choreograph the production, which will officially open Nov. 25 for a run through Dec. 30.

Davis (La Bohème, A Little Night Music) will star as Captain Georg von Trapp with Elena Shaddow (La Cage Aux Folles, Nine, Sweet Smell of Success) as Maria. They will be joined by Chelsea Morgan Stock (The Little Mermaid, Sister Act) as Liesl, Gracie Beardsley as Marta, Greta Clark as Gretl, Maya Fortgang as Brigitta, Amanda Harris as Louisa, Hunter A. Kovacs as Kurt, Sean McManus as Friedrich, Edward Hibbert ("Frasier," Mrs. Warren's Profession) as Max Detweiler, Fedorov (Rent, The Fantasticks) as Rolf Gruber, Drama Desk nominee Donna English (Nice Work If You Can Get It, Ruthless!) as Elsa Schraeder, Suzanne Ishee (The Phantom of the Opera) as Mother Abbess, Robert DuSold (Mamma Mia!) as Franz and Joy Franz (Into the Woods) as Frau Schmidt.

Based on the true story of the von Trapp family, The Sound of Music, is the final collaboration from composer Richard Rodgers and lyricist Oscar Hammerstein II and includes classic tunes such as "My Favorite Things," "Edelweiss" and "Climb Every Mountain." The musical features a book by Russel Crouse and Howard Lindsay.

Rounding out the cast are Ashley Kate Adams, Duke Anderson, Allison Blackwell (Sister Sophia), Jonathan Charette, Christine Cornell, Patrick David, Margaret Dietrich, Maggie Finnegan, Osborn Focht (Herr Zeller), Kera Halbersleben, Jenavene Hester, Dennis Holland (Baron Elberfeld), Norah Long, Robin Lounsbury, Anna McCarthy, Don Noble (Admiral von Schreiber), Jeannie Shubitz (Sister Margaretta), Adam Soniak, Chris Stevens, Mary Stout (Sister Berthe), Sally Ann Swarm and Nadine Zahr (Baroness Elberfeld).

Other members of the creative team include music director Tom Helm, scenic designer James Fouchard, costume coordinator Amanda Seymour, lighting designer F. Mitchell Dana, sound designer Randy Hansen, hair and wig designer Leah Loukas and production stage manager Matthew DiCarlo. Paper Mill Playhouse is under the producing artistic direction of Mark S. Hoebee and managing direction of Todd Schmidt.

Paper Mill Playhouse is located at 22 Brookside Drive in Millburn, NJ. For more information and tickets, call (973) 376-4343 or visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!