Betty Buckley to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award at Bistro Awards | Playbill

Related Articles
News Betty Buckley to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award at Bistro Awards Tony Award winner Betty Buckley, who will play a limited engagement at Feinstein's at the Regency beginning March 27, has been named the winner of the Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award.
Award winner Betty Buckley
Award winner Betty Buckley has learned that Buckley will be presented with her latest honor at the annual Back Stage Bistro Awards, which will be held April 9 at the Gotham Comedy Club. The award is named for Bob Harrington, the late cabaret critic who penned a column for Back Stage.

Former Sunset Boulevard star Buckley will sing during the evening, which will also boast performances by Keith David, Klea Blackhurst, Mary Foster Conklin and Barbara Fasano, among others. Jim David will emcee the annual event, which begins at 6:30 PM.

Betty Buckley offered acclaimed performances in Sunset Boulevard, Carrie, Song & Dance, The Mystery of Edwin Drood, 1776 and Promises, Promises. She won a Tony Award for her performance as Grizabella in the Broadway production of Cats, and she starred on the London stage in Promises, Promises and Sunset Boulevard, earning an Olivier Award nomination for her work in the latter. Also a TV ("Eight Is Enough") and film (Tender Mercies) star, the actress-singer devotes much of her time to concert appearances around the world. Her solo CD, "Stars and the Moon: Betty Buckley Live at the Donmar Warehouse," was nominated for a Grammy Award and is available on the Concord Records label. The actress was also seen on the final three seasons of the acclaimed HBO series "Oz" as well as in the Lincoln Center revue, Elegies: A Song Cycle.

The Gotham Comedy Club is located in Manhattan at 208 West 23rd Street, between Seventh and Eighth Avenues. Tickets, priced $35 (plus a two-drink minimum), are available by calling (646) 654-5725 or by e-mailing [email protected] (There are also premium tickets, priced at $60, which include a champagne reception from 5-6 PM with the Bistro winners.)

* Winners of the annual awards were picked by Back Stage editors David Finkle and John Hoglund. The awards are a one-time honor; that is, recipients cannot be named for the same award more than once.

The complete list of 2007 Bistro Award Winners follows.

Vocalist: Keith David at the Metropolitan Room; Douglas Ladnier at Danny's Skylight Room

Debut: Valarie Pettiford at the Metropolitan Room

Major Engagement: Jeff Harnar at Feinstein's at the Regency; Rebecca Luker at Feinstein's at the Regency

Major Jazz Vocalist: Kurt Elling at Birdland

Jazz Vocalist: Andrew Suvalsky at the Metropolitan Room

Musical Duo: Klea Blackhurst and Billy Stritch in Dreaming of a Song: The Music of Hoagy Carmichael at the Metropolitan Room; Faith Prince and Tom Wopat in Let's Fall in Love at Feinstein's at the Regency

Musical Group Performance: Tom Andersen, Scott Coulter, and Tim Di Pasqua in Southern Comfort: A Down-Home Country Music Jamboree at The Beechman

Musical Comedy Performance: Jay Rogers in Eat, Drink, and Be Mary at the Metropolitan Room; Kristine Zbornik at the Metropolitan Room

Unique Artist: Jose Luis Rodriguez at Danny's Skylight Room

Return to Cabaret: Charles Cochran at Danny's Skylight Room

Tribute Show: Terese Genecco in Drunk With Love: A Tribute to Frances Faye at the Metropolitan Room

Piano Bar Entertainer: Ray Fellman for The After Party at the Laurie Beechman Theater at the West Bank Café; David Shenton at Helen's Piano Lounge; Rick Unterberg at the Townhouse.

Comedian: Bob Smith at Gotham Comedy Club

Song of the Year: "One Thing" by Tim Di Pasqua

Special Material: "Almost (99 I Love You's)" by Joe Iconis and Robert Maddock

Recording: Mary Foster Conklin for "Blues for Breakfast"; Barbara Fasano for "Written in the Stars"

Musical Director: Shelly Markham for his performances with Andrea Marcovicci in By Request at the Oak Room at the Algonquin

Instrumentalist: Sean Smith

Instrumental Group: The Ross Patterson Little Big Band at Danny's Skylight Room

Technical Director: Tim Flannery at the Oak Room at the Algonquin

Special Award: Chris Mazzilli, Steve Mazzilli and Lennie Watts for outstanding achievement at the Metropolitan Room; Donald Schaffer for outstanding cabaret achievement at Danny's Skylight Room; Erv Raible with Wendy Lane Bailey for the Cabaret Conference at Yale University; and Mike Greensill for consistent excellence as musical conductor and arranger

Ira Eaker Special Achievement Award: (Named for Sherri Eaker's late father, the co-founder of Back Stage and a nightclub enthusiast) Sheera Ben-David

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!