Bountiful Tops 2006 Lucille Lortel Awards with Four Wins

News   Bountiful Tops 2006 Lucille Lortel Awards with Four Wins
The 21st Annual Lucille Lortel Awards were handed out May 1 at New World Stages, in a ceremony hosted by Actress-comedian Judy Gold and actor Brían F. O'Byrne.
2006 Lucille Lortel winner Lois Smith in The Trip to Bountiful.
2006 Lucille Lortel winner Lois Smith in The Trip to Bountiful.

The Signature Theatre's revival of The Trip to Bountiful was the evening's big winner, with four awards, including Outstanding Revival, Director (Harris Yulin), Lead Actress (Lois Smith), and Featured Actress (Hallie Foote).

Runner-up in the award count was New York Theatre Workshop's The Seven, which garnered three wins, including Outstanding Musical, Choreographer (Bill T. Jones), and Sound Design (Darron L. West).

The only other multiple award winner was the Atlantic Theater's The Lieutenant of Inishmore, which was honored for Outstanding Play and Lead Actor (David Wilmot, in a tie with Christopher Denham of Red Light Winter).

The New Group's revival of Abigail's Party led the 2006 Lortel nominations with eight citation, but came away with just one nod: Outstanding Costume Design (Eric Becker).

Four special awards were presented this year: the late Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Wendy Wasserstein will be honored posthumously with the Lifetime Achievement Award; John Patrick Shanley will be a Playwrights' Sidewalk Inductee; Betty Corwin will receive the Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence; and the Atlantic Theater Company will be honored with the Outstanding Body of Work prize. The 21st Annual Lucille Lortel nominations were announced April 3. The awards are named for the late actress-producer who embraced experimental, foreign and/or non-commercial work, and produced it far from the Times Square theatre district.

The 2006 Lucille Lortel nominees and winners are listed below, with winners indicated in bold and with an asterisk.

Outstanding Play
*The Lieutenant of Inishmore by Martin McDonagh
The Paris Letter by Jon Robin Baitz
Red Light Winter by Adam Rapp
The Ruby Sunrise by Rinne Groff

Outstanding Musical
Bernarda Alba, Words & Music by Michael John LaChiusa
Grey Gardens, Book by Doug Wright, Music by Scott Frankel, Lyrics by Michael Korie
See What I Wanna See, Words & Music by Michael John LaChiusa
*The Seven, by Will Power

Outstanding Revival
Abigail’s Party by Mike Leigh
Celebration and The Room by Harold Pinter
Funnyhouse of a Negro by Adrienne Kennedy
Mrs. Warren’s Profession by George Bernard Shaw
*The Trip to Bountiful by Horton Foote

Outstanding Director
Billie Allen, Funnyhouse of a Negro
Scott Elliott, Abigail’s Party
Scott Ellis, The Little Dog Laughed
Wilson Milam, The Lieutenant of Inishmore
*Harris Yulin, The Trip to Bountiful

Outstanding Choreographer
Michael Berresse, [title of show]
Graciela Daniele, Bernarda Alba
*Bill T. Jones, The Seven

Outstanding Lead Actor
*Christopher Denham, Red Light Winter (tie)
Conor Donovan, Privilege
John Glover, The Paris Letter
Michael Stuhlbarg, Measure for Pleasure
*David Wilmot, The Lieutenant of Inishmore (tie)

Outstanding Lead Actress
Jennifer Jason Leigh, Abigail’s Party
S. Epatha Merkerson, Birdie Blue
*Lois Smith, The Trip to Bountiful
Julie White, The Little Dog Laughed
Dianne Wiest, Third

Outstanding Featured Actor
*Charles Durning, Third
Domhnall Gleeson, The Lieutenant of Inishmore
Darren Goldstein, Abigail’s Party
Logan Marshall-Green, Dog Sees God
David Pittu, Celebration and The Room

Outstanding Featured Actress
Meghan Andrews, The Trip to Bountiful
Helena Carroll, Philadelphia, Here I Come!
Lisa Emery, Abigail’s Party
*Hallie Foote, The Trip to Bountiful
Mary Louise Wilson, Grey Gardens

Outstanding Scenic Design
Beowulf Boritt, The Other Side
David Korins, Swimming in the Shallows
*Eugene Lee, The Ruby Sunrise
Derek McLane, Abigail’s Party
Allen Moyer, Grey Gardens

Outstanding Costume Design
*Eric Becker, Abigail’s Party
William Ivey Long, Grey Gardens
Deborah Newhall, The Ruby Sunrise
Martin Pakledinaz, The Trip to Bountiful
Anita Yavich, The Wooden Breeks

Outstanding Lighting Design
*Aaron Black, Funnyhouse of a Negro
Jane Cox, Apparition
John McKernon, The Trip to Bountiful
Stephen Strawbridge, Bernarda Alba
David Weiner, The Seven

Outstanding Sound Design
Scott Killian, A Picasso
Brian Ronan, Grey Gardens
Ken Travis, Abigail’s Party
Darron L. West, Apparition
*Darron L. West, The Seven

From Left: Meghan Andrews and Lois Smith in <i>The Trip to Bountiful</i>.
From Left: Meghan Andrews and Lois Smith in The Trip to Bountiful. Photo by Carol Rosegg
Today’s Most Popular News: