Broadway’s School of Rock Welcomes Two New Actors to the Role of Dewey Finn

Broadway News   Broadway’s School of Rock Welcomes Two New Actors to the Role of Dewey Finn
Justin Collette plays the role five performances a week; Conner John Gillooly is the alternate Dewey.
Conner John Gillooly and Justin Collette
Conner John Gillooly and Justin Collette Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Justin Collette and Conner John Gillooly have joined the cast of Andrew Lloyd Webber's School of Rock in the role of wannabe rocker Dewey Finn: Collette assumes the role for five performances weekly beginning September 25, while Gillooly plays matinee performances as the Dewey Finn alternate.

Collette is originally from Canada, where he is a multi-instrumentalist and a writer, improviser, and comedian. He is the co-founder of the award-winning sketch comedy troupe Get Some! He also voices the role of Cupcake in the new Netflix animated series Cupcake and Dino: General Services. School of Rock marks his Broadway debut.

Gillooly is a recent graduate of Point Park University. He made his Broadway debut in the ensemble of School of Rock.

Eric Petersen played his final performance September 24; he is about to begin rehearsals for the new Broadway-bound musical Escape to Margaritaville.

Flip through the photos of the new Dewey Finns below:

Now in performances at Broadway’s Winter Garden Theatre (1634 Broadway), School of Rock also currently stars Jenn Gambatese as Rosalie Mullins, Steven Booth as Ned, Becky Gulsvig as Patty, Zachary Zwelling as Zach, Levi Buksbazen as Freddy, Rachel Katzke as Katie, Walden Sullivan as Lawrence, Olivia Chun as Summer, John Allyn as Billy, and Amadi Chapata as Tomika.

The adult ensemble includes Emily Cramer, Natalie Charle Ellis, Leo Ash Evens, John Arthur Greene, Nehal Joshi, Lulu Lloyd, Jaygee Macapugay, Cassie Okenka, Patrick O’Neill, Morgan Rose, Jesse Swimm, Josh Tower, Joel Waggoner, Jonathan Wagner, and J. Michael Zygo. The kids’ ensemble includes Terrance Bell, Jr., Chloe Bryan, Michael Cascetta, Gabrielle Greene, Sophia Kekllas, Ellie Kim, Cory Logan, Ruth Righi, Demi Singleton, and Jersey Sullivan.


(Updated September 25, 2017)

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: