Brooks Will Sign Young Frankenstein CDs Feb. 27

News   Brooks Will Sign Young Frankenstein CDs Feb. 27
Following the Feb. 27 matinee performance of Young Frankenstein, the show's co-creator, Mel Brooks, will be on hand to autograph copies of the musical's new cast recording.

The signing — which will be held in the lobby of the Hilton Theatre — will be open only to ticket holders for that afternoon's performance.

The cast album of Young Frankenstein, the new Brooks-Thomas Meehan Broadway musical version of the Brooks film comedy, hit stores Dec. 26, 2007. The CD on the Decca Broadway label includes an overture created for the recording, plus a cut song, "Alone," sung by Megan Mullally. The starry cast recorded the 21-track album Nov. 12.

Doug Besterman, Young Frankenstein's orchestrator, is the recording's producer. Director Susan Stroman and Brooks are executive producers of the album.

Susan Stroman directs and choreographs the new musical, which features a score by Mel Brooks and a book by Thomas Meehan and Brooks.

The CD booklet includes lyrics, synopsis with explanatory notes by Will Friedwald, plus color and black and white photos. The music staff also includes Patrick S. Brady (music direction and vocal arrangements), Glen Kelly (music arrangements and supervision) and John Miller (music coordinator).


The production stars Tony winner Roger Bart (Dr. Frederick Frankenstein), Megan Mullally (as the doctor's love interest, Elizabeth), Tony winner Sutton Foster (as comely assistant Inga, who sings a number called "Roll in the Hay"), Tony winner Shuler Hensley (The Monster), Tony winner Andrea Martin (as castle matron Frau Blucher), Fred Applegate (as Transylvanian policeman Inspector Kemp, and a Hermit) and Christopher Fitzgerald (as hunchback Igor) with an ensemble that includes Heather Ayers, Jim Borstelmann, Paul Castree, Jennifer Lee Crowl, Jack Doyle, Renée Feder, James Gray, Amy Heggins, Eric Jackson, Kristin Marie Johnson, Matthew LaBanca, Kevin Ligon, Barrett Martin, Linda Mugleston, Christina Marie Norrup, Justin Patterson, Brian Shepard, Sarrah Strimel, Craig Waletzko and Courtney Young.

The CD's musical numbers are "Overture," "The Happiest Town in Town," "The Brain," "Please Don't Touch Me," "Together Again," "Roll in the Hay," "Join the Family Business," "He Vas My Boyfriend," "Life, Life," "Welcome to Transylvania," "Transylvania Mania," "He's Loose," "Listen to Your Heart," "Surprise," "Please Send Me Someone," "Man About Town," "Puttin' on the Ritz" (music and lyrics by Irving Berlin), "Deep Love," "Frederick's Soliloquy," "Finale Ultimo," plus "Alone," cut from Act One.

The Hilton Theatre is located in Manhattan at 213 West 42nd Street.

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: