Cabaret Convention 2005 Opens at Its New Lincoln Center Home Oct. 17 | Playbill

Related Articles
News Cabaret Convention 2005 Opens at Its New Lincoln Center Home Oct. 17 After a 15-year residence at Town Hall, the annual Cabaret Convention — presented by the Mabel Mercer Foundation — moves uptown to Jazz at Lincoln Center's Frederick P. Rose Hall. The week-long celebration of the American popular song begins Oct. 17.

Over 100 performers will be featured in the seven-concert series, which kicks off with a "Gala Opening" starring Karen Akers, Bill Charlap, Jeff Harnar, Rebecca Kilgore, Andrea Marcovicci, Karen Mason, Steve Ross, Sandy Stewart, Paula West, Jane White and Wesla Whitfield.

"Barbara Carroll: A Celebration" is the title of the Oct. 18 evening, which will feature the presentation of the first-ever "Mabel" — for excellence in American song — to jazz pianist Carroll. Those taking part in the celebration include Adi Braun, Ann Hampton Callaway, Eric Comstock, Mary Foster Conklin, Spencer Day, Barbara Fasano, Allan Harris, Laurel Massé, Daryl Sherman, Heather Sullivan and Ronny Whyte.

"Cabaret Today" will be presented Oct. 19 and will boast the talents of Tom Andersen, Baby Jane Dexter, David Friedman, Terese Genecco, Eva Ladas, Lee Lessack, Rosalyn McClore, Sandra Reaves-Phillips, Shawn Ryan, Marcus Simeone, John Wallowitch and Susan Werner. The evening will also include the presentation of the Bart Howard Encouragement Award — a $1,000 grant to an up-n-coming performer or songwriter — to composer Friedman.

The Julie Wilson Cabaret Performing Award will be presented in a surprise announcement on Oct. 20, an evening that features "Songs from the Movies." Hosts for the evening will include Robert Osborne, Ann Blyth, Arlene Dahl, Sally Ann Howes, Jane Powell and Margaret Whiting. Judy Barnett, Martha Brown, Joan Curto, Valerie Lemon, Amanda McBroom, Maude Maggart, Sharon McNight, Jeffrey Miller, Phillip Officer, Julie Reyburn, Barbara Rosene, Craig Rubano, Jennifer Sheehan, KT Sullivan and Eric Jordan Young are scheduled to perform.

The Dick Gallagher Musical Director Award — named for the late musician — will be presented Oct. 21 to an artist to be named that night. The concert, entitled "Open a New Window: The Songs of Jerry Herman," will feature a special appearance by the composer of Mame and Hello, Dolly!. Those scheduled to interpret songs from Herman's canon include John Abernathy, Klea Blackhurst, Christine Ebersole, Marilyn Maye, Colleen McHugh, Georga Osborne, Lee Roy Reams, Craig Rubano and Billy Stritch. "Centennial Songwriters" will celebrate the 100th birthdays of Dorothy Fields, Harold Arlen and Jule Styne. Singers for the Oct. 22 evening will include Lisa Asher, Anna Bergman, Joyce Breach, Barbara Brussell, Natalie Douglas, Jeanne MacDonald, Sylvia McNair, Spider Saloff, Simone, Rebecca Spencer, Julie Wilson and Larry Woodard.

The 2005 Convention will conclude Oct. 23 with "Tea for Two," a pairing of eight of the country's top cabaret performers: Klea Blackhurst and Steve Ross, Lynne Jackson and Mike Palter, Beckie Menzie and Tom Michael and Georga Osborne and Sidney Myer.

The Rose Theater is located at Frederick P. Rose Hall within Jazz at Lincoln Center at Broadway and 60th Street. For ticket information call (212) 721-6500 or visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!