Callaway and Mason Among Winners of 2005 MAC Awards

News   Callaway and Mason Among Winners of 2005 MAC Awards
Swing!'s Ann Hampton Callaway and Mamma Mia!'s Karen Mason were among the winners of the 2005 MAC (Manhattan Association of Cabarets & Clubs) Awards, which were presented April 25 at the Peter Norton Symphony Space.

Callaway nabbed two awards: Her newest CD, "Slow," was voted Best Recording of the Year, and her song, "My Answered Prayer," was named Song of the Year. Mason received her MAC for Best Major Engagement.

The awards, which honor the best in New York cabaret, comedy and jazz, also presented special nods to Mario Cantone (MAC Board of Directors Award for Comedy), Keely Smith (Lifetime Achievement Award), Kenny Barron and George Coleman (MAC Board of Directors Award for Jazz) and cabaret newcomer Maude Maggart (Time Out New York MAC Award). The latter was also won a MAC Award for New York Debut-Female.

Directed by Peter Flynn, the annual awards included appearances and/or performances by The Accidentals, Kenny Barron, Ann Hampton Callaway, Kim Cea, George Coleman, Chip Deffaa, Andre de Shields, Eric Michael Gillett, La Tanya Hall, Hilary Kole, Lina Koutrakos, Jeanne MacDonald, Maude Maggart, Manhattan Rhythm Kings, Karen Mason, Mark Nadler, Ron Poole, Marcus Simeone, Keely Smith, Ty Stephens, KT Sullivan, Jon Weber, Nancy Witter, the cast of Singing Astaire and Spamalot's Sara Ramirez. Sidney Myer, Ron Poole and Richard Skipper were the evening's Masters of Ceremonies. D.J. Bradley served as musical director.

The complete list of 2005 MAC Award winners (with winners names in bold) follows:
Female Vocalist
Lisa Asher
Natalie Douglas
Barbara Fasano

Male Vocalist
Brandon Cutrell
Anthony Santelmo Jr.
Steve Ray Watkins New York Debut - Female
Maude Maggart
Sarah Mucho
Tracy Stark

New York Debut - Male
Ritt Henn
Thomas Honeck
Steven Garrett Wright

Major Engagement
Barbara Brussell
Karen Mason
Mark Nadler

Stand-Up Comedy/Monology
Rock Albers
Poppi Kramer
Nancy Witter

Steven Brinberg (Barbra Streisand)
Tommy Femia (Judy Garland)
Chuck Sweeney (Peggy Lee)

Musical Comedy Performer
Fred Barton
Dottie Burman
Ray Jessell
Shawn Ryan

Vocal Or Musical Comedy Duo/Group
Marcus Simeone & Eva Ladas
The Next Big Broadway Musical
3 Tenors in Search of an Act

The Johnny Mercer Birthday Show
Singing Astaire
Timeless Divas!

Variety Production/Recurring Series or Special Production
Gashole: The Talk Show, Gashole: The Tonyshow
New Mondays
Poole Party

Piano Bar/Restaurant Entertainer
Leslie Anderson
Jenifer Kruskamp
George Sanders

Piano Bar/Restaurant Instrumentalist
Gerry Dieffenbach
Ricky Ritzel
Jerry Scott
Tracy Stark

Phil Geoffrey Bond
Hope Hardcastle
Ron Poole

Musical Director
Christopher Denny
Rick Jensen
Alex Rybeck

Technical Director
Michael Barbieri
Thomas Honeck
Shawn Moninger

Recording of the Year
John Bucchino, "On Richard Rodgers' Piano"
Ann Hampton Callaway, "Slow"
Ricky Ritzel & Leslie Anderson, "Cool, Cool, Cool - Songs of Johnny Mercer"

Song of the Year
Nancy Baxter & Paul Stephan, "Elusive"
Bonnie Lee Sanders, Joel Diamond and Mila, "Friends (Laisse Moi T'Aimer)"
Marie Gentile and Caren Cole, "I'd Rather Never Know"
Ann Hampton Callaway, "My Answered Prayer"
Michael Ogborn, "Ou Apres La Guerre"

Special Musical Material of the Year
Ann Hampton Callaway, "Here Come the Callaways"
Fred Barton, "I Can Be an Icon Too"
Mary Liz Mcnamara, "I Love You Sweetheart"
Peter Lurye and Peter Yawitz, "Not Good Enough"
Ray Jessel, "The Short Term Memory Loss Blues"

Visit for more information.

Today’s Most Popular News: