Carolyn Cantor and Larry Keigwin Win SDC's Callaway Awards

News   Carolyn Cantor and Larry Keigwin Win SDC's Callaway Awards
After the Revolution director Carolyn Cantor and Off-Broadway Rent choreographer Larry Keigwin have been selected as the 2011 Joe A. Callaway Award Recipients.

Larry Keigwin
Larry Keigwin

The Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation administers the honor which "recognizes excellence in the craft of directing and choreography during the New York City theatre season." It is the only award given by professional directors and choreographers to their peers for specific productions.

The awards were presented during the SDC annual membership Meeting Nov. 14.

Finalists for the 2011 Joe A. Callaway Award are:


Jesse Berger, The Witch of Edmonton
Produced by Red Bull Theater Walter Bobbie, The School for Lies
Produced by Classic Stage Company

* Carolyn Cantor, After the Revolution
Produced by Playwrights Horizons

Joe Mantello, Other Desert Cities
Produced by Lincoln Center Theater at The Mitzi E. Newhouse

Roger Rees and Alex Timbers, Peter and the Starcatcher
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop


A.C. Ciulla, Lucky Guy
Produced by L. Glenn Poppleton

Gail Pennington Crutchfield, Freckleface Strawberry The Musical
Produced by MMAC Productions, LLC

Steven Hoggett, Peter and the Starcatcher
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop

Devanand Janki and Robert Tatad, The Yellow Brick Road
Produced by Theatreworks USA

* Larry Keigwin, Rent
Produced by Jeffrey Seller, Kevin McCollum and Allan S. Gordon

Joe A. Callaway dedicated more than 50 years to the theatre as an actor, director, lecturer and critic. He was a founding member and a director of San Diego's Old Globe Theatre, the first recipient of a master's degree from the Goodman School of Theatre, an associate professor at Michigan State University, a noted radio and television reviewer, and an actor Off-Broadway and in regional theatre. Since his death in 1991, his legacy lives on in awards he endowed for direction and choreography (through SDCF), for acting (through Actors' Equity Association), for playwriting (through Young Playwrights Inc.), and for theatre scholarship (through NYU).

SDCF's Joe A. Callaway Award was first presented in 1989. Previous winners include Gabriel Barre, Martha Clarke, Graciela Daniele, Scott Elliott, Frank Galati, Christopher Gattelli, Doug Hughes, Garry Hynes, Devenand Janki, Moisés Kaufman, Joe Mantello, Trevor Nunn, Jack O'Brien, Harold Prince, Bartlett Sher, Susan Stroman, Daniel Sullivan, Julie Taymor and George C. Wolfe.


Founded in 1965 by Members of Stage Directors and Choreographers Society (SDC), The Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation (SDCF) is the nation's premier organization that exists to foster, train, support and promote the craft of theatre Directors and Choreographers. SDCF aims to provide opportunities to practice the crafts of direction and choreography; promote emerging talent; grant access to career paths for emerging artists and young professionals; gather and disseminate craft and career information; provide forums for exchange of knowledge; and increase the awareness of the value of Directors' and Choreographers' work.

For additional information, visit SDC online at

Today’s Most Popular News: