Cast Complete for Stephen Sondheim’s Merrily We Roll Along at Chicago’s Porchlight

Chicago News   Cast Complete for Stephen Sondheim’s Merrily We Roll Along at Chicago’s Porchlight
The Sondheim-George Furth musical will begin performances in January 2018.
Neala Barron, Jim DeSelm, and Matt Crowle
Neala Barron, Jim DeSelm, and Matt Crowle Michael Courier

Porchlight Music Theatre will present Stephen Sondheim and George Furth’s Merrily We Roll Along January 26–March 11, 2018, at Chicago's Ruth Page Center for the Arts, 1016 N. Dearborn St., Chicago.

Based on George S. Kaufman and Moss Hart's play of the same name, the musical will be directed by Porchlight Music Theatre Artistic Director Michael Weber, with associate direction and musical staging by Porchlight Music Theatre Artistic Associate Christopher Pazdernik, and music direction by Aaron Benham.

The cast will be comprised of Matt Crowle as Charley Kringas, Jim DeSelm as Franklin Shephard, Neala Barron as Mary Flynn, Keely Vasquez as Gussie Carnegie, David Fiorello as Joe Josephson, Aja Wiltshire as Beth, Kyrie Anderson as the Make-up Artist, Larry Baldacci as Mr. Spencer, Sandra Bogan as Mrs. Spencer, Katherine Condit as Scotty, Christopher Davis as Terry, Andres Enriquez as Tyler, Fredrick Harris as Jerome, Michelle Jasso as K.T., Bernell Lassai as Bunker/TV Newsman, Cisco Lopez as Floor Monitor/Minister, Alana Lovely as Meg/TV Newswoman, Khaki Pixley as Dory/Girl Auditioning, Jonathan Strombres as Ru/Nightclub Pianist, and Zachary Fewkes and Asher Schenk alternating the role of Franklin Shepard, Jr.

Merrily We Roll Along features a score by Sondheim and a book by Furth. Concerning the lives of three friends—composer Franklin Shepard, lyricist Charley Kringas, and writer Mary Flynn—the musical is told backwards in time and boasts such classic Sondheim tunes as “Like It Was,” “Not a Day Goes By,” “Good Thing Going,” “Now You Know,” “Our Time,” and “Old Friends.” The musical bowed on Broadway at the Alvin Theatre on November 16, 1981, where it ran for only 16 performances. The original cast included Jim Walton, Ann Morrison, Lonny Price, Terry Finn, Jason Alexander, Tonya Pinkins, Daisy Prince, and Liz Callaway.

Musicians include Tony Scandora on percussion, Ben Dillinger on bass, Mike Matlock on flute, oboe, clarinet, and alto sax, Lara Regan on clarinet, alto sax, tenor sax, and bass clarinet, Jered Montgomery on trumpet, and Matt Kowalski on trombone.

Other members of the creative and production teams include costume designer Bill Morey, projection designer Tony Churchill, co-scenic designers Jeff Kmiec and Greg Pinsoneault, sound designer Robert Hornbostel, master electrician Rachel West, production manager Alex Rhyan, technical director Johnnie Schleyer, and stage manager Matt McMullen.

Tickets are $33–$60 and are available at or by calling the Porchlight Music Theatre box office at (773) 777-9884.


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Latest News