Cast Set for Writers Theatre’s Next to Normal, Directed by The Band's Visit Tony Winner David Cromer | Playbill

Regional News Cast Set for Writers Theatre’s Next to Normal, Directed by The Band's Visit Tony Winner David Cromer
Performances will begin at the Illinois venue May 8, 2019.
Keely Vasquez and David Schlumpf
Keely Vasquez and David Schlumpf
The Band's Visit Tony winner David Cromer, who is currently in previews for the Broadway debut of The Waverly Gallery, will direct the Writers Theatre's upcoming production of the Pulitzer Prize-winning musical Next to Normal, which will be presented May 8–June 16, 2019, in the Alexandra C. and John D. Nichols Theatre.

David Cromer Joseph Marzullo/WENN
The cast will feature Kyrie Courter as Natalie Goodman, Alex Levy as Henry, Liam Oh as Gabe Goodman, Gabriel Ruiz as Dr. Madden/Dr. Fine, David Schlumpf as Dan Goodman, and Keely Vasquez as Diana Goodman.

Next to Normal has music by Tom Kitt and book and lyrics by Brian Yorkey. Andra Velis Simon is the music director for the production; opening is May 15 in Glencoe, Illinois.

On the outside, The Goodmans seem like the average American family: house in the suburbs, white picket fence, and two sharp-witted kids. But inside, their lives are anything but normal, with long-buried secrets that threaten to tear them apart.

The creative team also includes assistant music director Ellen Morris, scenic designer Regina Garcia, costume designer Rachel Anne Healy, lighting designer Keith Parham, sound designer Ray Nardelli, dramaturg Bobby Kennedy, CFM contractor Nick Moran, keyboard programmer Ethan Deppe, associate director Lili-Anne Brown, and production stage manager Rebecca Pechter.

For ticket information visit

Next to Normal's Opening Night on Broadway

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!