Casting Society of America to Honor Mike Nichols at 2007 Artios Awards | Playbill

Related Articles
News Casting Society of America to Honor Mike Nichols at 2007 Artios Awards The Casting Society of America will honor Tony Award-winning director Mike Nichols as well as a mix of casting directors at the 2007 Artios Awards.

The New York ceremony will be held Nov. 5 at 5 PM at Caroline's on Broadway. Currently scheduled to present are Broadway stars David Hyde Pierce, Amy Ryan, Julianna Margulies, George Wendt, Kelli O'Hara, Norbert Leo Butz, Mary Testa and Jackie Hoffman.

Presented annually for outstanding achievement in casting, the Artios Awards are given "on the criteria of originality, creativity and the contribution of casting to the overall quality of a project," according to an announcement. "The term 'Artios' is from the ancient Greek word meaning 'perfectly fitted,' and in 1985, the Casting Society established the Artios Awards to recognize the significance of casting to the success of a movie, television or theatrical production."

In addition to the award presentation, the Casting Society of America will honor director Nichols with the New York Apple Award for "lifetime contributions to the New York entertainment community by industry notables," according to a release.

Mike Nichols received an Academy Award for Best Director for the 1968 classic "The Graduate." He was also Oscar-nominated for Best Director for his work on "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?," "Silkwood" and "Working Girl." On Broadway, Nichols received Tony Awards for directing Monty Python's Spamalot, The Real Thing, The Prisoner of Second Avenue, Plaza Suite, Barefoot in the Park and Luv and The Odd Couple. Nichols is scheduled to direct the upcoming revival of The Country Girl. His latest film, "Charlie Wilson's War," will hit theatres in December.

Among the 2007 Award nominees are: DRAMATIC THEATER CASTING
Frost/Nixon - Daniel Swee
Inherit The Wind - Jay Binder and Jack Bowdan
Journey’s End - Jay Binder and Jack Bowdan
The Coast Of Utopia - Daniel Swee
Twelve Angry Men (National Tour) - Jim Carnahan

COMEDY THEATER CASTING Butley - Jay Binder and Jack Bowdan
Heartbreak House - Jim Carnahan and Mele Nagler
Prelude To A Kiss - Jim Carnahan and Mele Nagler

110 In The Shade - Jim Carnahan
Curtains - Jim Carnahan
Legally Blonde - Bernard Telsey
Spring Awakening - Jim Carnahan
The Color Purple - Bernard Telsey

An Oak Tree - Stephanie Klapper
Blackbird - Nancy Piccione and David Caparelliotis
Follies - Jay Binder
Pig Farm - Mele Nagler
Suburbia - Tara Rubin
The Prime Of Miss Jean Brodie - Judy Henderson

All About Us - Jay Binder
Cat On A Hot Tin Roof - Paul Fouquet and Elissa Myers
Present Laughter - Alaine Alldaffer
The 60's Project - Arnold J. Mungioli
The Cherry Orchard - Jay Binder and Jack Bowdan

Amadeus - Michael Donovan
Baby - Sara Isaacson
Fences - Michael Donovan
Pyrenees - Erika Sellin
Sunset Boulevard - Bruce H. Newberg
Twelfth Night - Michael Donovan

Of note to theatre folk: casting director Telsey is also nominated in the Comedy Pilot Casting category (with Junie Lowry Johnson) for his location work on "Ugly Betty." Binder also shares a nod (with Debra Zane) for Feature Film Casting – Drama of "Dreamgirls."

For more information, visit the Casting Society of America's website at

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!