Chicago Engagement of The Book of Mormon Ends Oct. 6 | Playbill

Related Articles
News Chicago Engagement of The Book of Mormon Ends Oct. 6 The Chicago production of The Book of Mormon, which opened to acclaim in December 2012, plays its final performance Oct. 6 at the Bank of America Theatre.

Nic Rouleau
Nic Rouleau

The Chicago production opened Dec. 19, 2012. It subsequently played 43 weeks and 344 performances, holding the record for the biggest weekly gross in the history of the Bank of America Theatre. The production has played to over 100 percent capacity every week since it opened.

Nic Rouleau and Ben Platt co-star as Elder Price and Elder Cunningham, respectively. Syesha Mercado plays Nabulungi.

A separate, first national tour of The Book of Mormon launched in August 2012 at the Buell Theatre in Denver. It continues to tour. The New York run continues its record-breaking engagement at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre.

The Chicago staging, which now becomes the second national tour of Book of Mormon, will play Denver, San Francisco, Los Angeles and other cities in the 2013-14 season. A Chicago return is planned for the 2014-15 season.

"South Park" creators-writers Trey Parker and Matt Stone, and Tony-winning Avenue Q songwriter Robert Lopez collaborated on the script and score to the musical, which earned Tony Awards for Best Book, Best Score and Best Musical. Co-directed by Parker and Casey Nicholaw, The Book of Mormon opened to critical acclaim March 24, 2011, at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre. Both earned Tony Awards for their work and repeat their duties for the tour.

The Book of Mormon has set design by Scott Pask, costume design by Ann Roth, lighting design by Brian MacDevitt and sound design by Brian Ronan. Orchestrations are by Larry Hochman and Stephen Oremus. Music direction and vocal arrangements are by Oremus.

The Book of Mormon also picked up Tony Awards for Best Direction (Parker and co-director/choreographer Casey Nicholaw), Best Performance by a Featured Actress (Nikki M. James), Best Orchestrations (Larry Hochman and Stephen Oremus), Best Scenic Design (Scott Pask), Best Sound Design (Brian Ronan) and Best Lighting Design (Brian MacDevitt).


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!