Chick Corea, Freddie Hubbard Among NEA's 2006 Jazz Masters

Classic Arts News   Chick Corea, Freddie Hubbard Among NEA's 2006 Jazz Masters
The National Endowment for the Arts has named the recipients of the 2006 Jazz Masters Award, the nation's highest honor for living jazz musicians.

The newly named Jazz Masters are percussionist Ray Baretto, vocalist Tony Bennett, arranger and composer Bob Brookmeyer, pianist Chick Corea, clarinetist Buddy DeFranco, trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, and manager John Levy, who the winner of the A.B. Spellman Award for Jazz Advocacy.

The seven will receive their awards at a ceremony in January 2006 in New York City. Each will receive $25,000 and the opportunity to perform as part of the NEA's Jazz Masters on Tour program.

Eighty-seven musicians and advocates have been named Jazz Masters since 1982, including Dizzy Gillespie, Count Basie, Miles Davis, Sarah Vaughan, and Art Blakey. The 2005 honorees were guitarist Kenny Burrell, clarinetist/saxophonist Paquito D'Rivera, arranger/composer Slide Hampton, vocalist Shirley Horn, big-band leader Artie Shaw, organist Jimmy Smith, and jazz impressario George Wein.

Recommended Reading: