Cook, Buckley, Minnelli and More to Sing at NYC Cabaret Awards April 5 | Playbill

News Cook, Buckley, Minnelli and More to Sing at NYC Cabaret Awards April 5
Stars of the cabaret and musical theatre world will be in harmony April 5 at Town Hall in New York City for the MAC Awards, celebrating the best of Manhattan cabaret talent.
{asset::caption} {asset::credit}

Stars of the cabaret and musical theatre world will be in harmony April 5 at Town Hall in New York City for the MAC Awards, celebrating the best of Manhattan cabaret talent.

Karen Mason, James Naughton, Heather MacRae, Billy Stritch, John Pizzarelli, Kate Clinton, David Campbell, Michael Feinstein and Barbara Cook are among the 100 nominees for the annual MAC Awards, sponsored by the Manhattan Association of Cabarets & Clubs.

The marquee of performers singing at the event is particularly bright: Betty Buckley, David Campbell, Cook and Wally Harper, Billy Stritch and Liza Minnelli, Kathie Lee Gifford and John Pizzarelli.

They will be joined celebrity presenters from the cabaret world. Tickets, including those priced at $20, are still available

* Nominations were announced March 3 for the awards honoring cabaret artists in 32 categories in some 50 associated venues. The 13th Annual MAC Awards will be at Town Hall, 123 W. 43rd St., in Manhattan.

MAC is a trade group with almost 1,200 members promoting awareness and advancing the art and business of live entertainment in New York City's comedy, jazz and cabaret clubs.

The 1999 Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Barbara Cook and pianist-arranger Wally Harper. The 1999 Board of Directors Award will be presented to Liza Minnelli. Both Cook and Minnelli are expected to sing.

Among individual nominees are Amanda Green (daughter of Phyllis Newman and Adolph Green) for Musical Comedy Performer; Forbidden Broadway alum Christine Pedi for Female Debut; Harvey Fierstein for Major Musical Comedy Performer; Australian vocalist (and star of February's Babes in Arms by "Encores!") David Campbell, James Naughton and Michael Feinstein (separately) for Major Male Vocalist; Ann Hampton Callaway, Barbara Cook and Karen Mason (separately) for Major Female Vocalist; Carol Hall's "Circle of Friends" for Song of the Year; Marcia Lewis' "Nowadays" for Major Recording of the Year; Steven Brinberg, Tommy Femia and Ruby Rims (separately) for Impersonation/Characterization.

The April 5 MAC Awards, open to the public, is the culmination of "Cabaret Month" in New York City.

Tickets for the MAC Awards are $20, $40 and $100. For tickets, call (212) 307-4100; for information, call (212) 465-2662.

999 MAC Nominees are:

Female Vocalist
Lisa Asher
Jeanne MacDonald
Heather Mac Rae

Male Vocalist
Tom Andersen
Charles Cermele
Scott Coulter

Pop/R&B Vocalist
Bobby Belfry
Patrick DeGennaro
Jenifer Kruskamp
Lennie Watts

Musical Comedy Performer
Amanda Green
Peter-Michael Marino
Sam Sagenkahn
Michael Vaccaro

Female Stand-Up
Sunda Croonquist
Cory Kahaney
Angela LaGreca
Marla Schultz

Male Stand-Up
Tom Cotter
Rob Magnotti
Ron Poole

Jazz Performer
May Foster Conklin
Natalie Douglas
Laurie Krauz

Female Debut
Joan Crowe
Karen Mack
Christine Pedi

Major Female Vocalist
Ann Hampton Callaway
Barbara Cook
Karen Mason

Major Male Vocalist
David Campbell
Michael Feinstein
James Naughton

Major Pop/R&B Vocalist
Baby Jane Dexter
Darlene Love
Vicki Sue Robinson

Major Musical Comedy Performer
Harvey Fierstein
Angela LaGreca
Mark Nadler

Major Female Stand-Up
Kate Clinton
Judy Gold
Caroline Rhea

Major Male Stand-Up
Lewis Black
Jim David
Jeff Ross

Major Jazz Performer
Susannah McCorkle
John Pizzarelli
Billy Stritch

Male Debut
Jarrod Cafaro
Tony Chiroldes
Sammy Goldstein
Ken Roberson

Variety Production
Jamie deRoy & friends
Julie Halston's New York
The Seth Rudetsky Show

Revue of the Year
The Boswell Sisters: Rhythm on the Rainbow
The Kooky Tunes of Keith Thompson
Make Your Own Party '98: The Songs of Heisler & Goodrich
Rick Crom's Our Life & Tunes

Steven Brinberg
Tommy Femia
Ruby Rims

Special Production
Julie Gold & Julie Halston: Julie Julie Jeff Harnar & KT Sullivan: Two for Tonight Mark Nadler & KT Sullivan: American Rhapsody

Julie Gold
Rick Jensen
Steven Lutvak

Vocal Musical Comedy Group
The Accidentals
Scott Barbarino & The Bev Naps
Jenny Burton Experience
Combo Fiasco

Recording of the Year
Tom Andersen: The Journey
Lisa Asher: Let The Mystery Be
Rick Jensen: Spring Harvest

Song of the Year
"Circle of Friends" (Carol Hall)
"Good Night New York" (Julie Gold)
"Out of Love" (Marcy Heisler & Zina Goldrich)

Piano Bar/Restaurant Entertainer
Karen Miller (Eighty-Eights)
Bobby Peaco (Don't Tell Mama)
Jerry Scott (Judy's)

Musical Director
Christopher Lenny
Ross Patterson
Jeff Waxmans

Jazz Instrumentalist
Gay Smulyan
Terrell Stafford
Steve Wilson

Jazz/Swing Recording of the Year
Judy Barney: Swingin'
Susannah McCorkle: Someone to Watch Over Me
Tom Postilio: Dream
Daryl Sherman: A Lady Must Live

Major Recording of the Year
Rosemary Clooney: At Long Last
Marcia Lewis: Nowadays
Maureen McGovern: The Pleasure of His Company

Special Musical Material
"Everytime A Friend Succeeds" (Amanda Green)
"How's Your Little Act?" (D.C. Anderson & Billy Philadelphia)
"There's Nothing I Wouldn't Do" (Marcy Heisler & Zina Goldrich)
"Shine, Shine, Shine" (Keith Thompson)

Lisa Asher
Scott Barnes
Barry Kleinbort

Technical Director
Matt Berman
Jaye Lee
Shawn Moninger

In other NYC cabaret news, the Back Stage Bistro Awards were held Mar. 1 at the Supper Club. Winners included Heather Mac Rae, Shequida, Seth Rudetsky and Tom Andersen.

-- By Kenneth Jones

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!