Count Basie, Ella Fitzgerald, Sonny Rollins to Be Inducted Into Jazz at Lincoln Center's Jazz Hall of Fame

Classic Arts News   Count Basie, Ella Fitzgerald, Sonny Rollins to Be Inducted Into Jazz at Lincoln Center's Jazz Hall of Fame
Jazz at Lincoln Center has announced the second class of inductees into its Nesuhi Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame.

The latest inductees, who will be honored at a ceremony on September 8, are Count Basie, the Kansas City pianist and bandleader; Roy Eldridge, the swing-era trumpeter who led his own band and played with Basie, Fletcher Henderson, Gene Krupa, and others; Ella Fitzgerald, the beloved singer and master of scat singing; Benny Goodman, the clarinetist and bandleader known as the "King of Swing"; Earl Hines, the pianist who played with Louis Armstrong and led his own band; Johnny Hodges, the longtime alto saxophonist in the Duke Ellington Orchestra; Jo Jones, Basie's drummer and one of the inventors of swing drumming; Charles Mingus, the larger-than-life bassist, bandleader, and composer; King Oliver, the New Orleans trumpeter and bandleader who gave Armstrong his start; Sonny Rollins, the powerful and elusive hard bop saxophonist; Max Roach, the drummer who played with Charlie Parker before forming a influential hard-bop group with trumpeter Clifford Brown and Rollins; and Fats Waller, the stride pianist and the composer of "Ain't Misbehavin'" and "Honeysuckle Rose."

The Ertegun Hall of Fame was inaugurated last year at Jazz at Lincoln Center's newly opened Rose Hall; the first round of inductees included Louis Armstrong, Sidney Bechet, Bix Beiderbecke, John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Duke Ellington, Dizzy Gillespie, Coleman Hawkins, Billie Holiday, Thelonious Monk, Jelly Roll Morton, Art Tatum, and Lester Young. The hall is named for the late Nesuhi Ertegun, one of the founders of Atlantic Records, which released records by Coltrane and Mingus, among other important jazz figures. Ertegun's brother and partner, Ahmet, is on the board of Jazz at Lincoln Center.

The inductees were chosen by a 58-member panel of musicians, scholars, and educators from around the world.

"These great jazz musicians set new standards for instrumental and vocal performance in the 20th century," said Wynton Marsalis, JALC's artistic director. "Their work stands as a testament to the creative power of jazz and their impact on musicians and audiences across time is etched into the prominent history of jazz."

The induction ceremony will not be open to the public. Fellow musicians, the inductees' families, and inductees themselves—Roach and Rollins are still living—will be on hand.

Recommended Reading: