David Mamet to Receive Common Wealth Award | Playbill

Related Articles
News David Mamet to Receive Common Wealth Award Playwright David Mamet has been named to receive a 2004 Common Wealth Award of Distinguished Service. The prizes are presented annually to "individuals who have enriched and improved the world through their exceptional lifetime achievement."
David Mamet
David Mamet Photo by Brigitte Lacombe

Mamet is the author of numerous plays, including Sexual Perversity in Chicago, American Buffalo, Edmond, The Cryptogram, A Life in the Theatre, The Water Engine, Speed-the-Plow, The Old Neighborhood, Boston Marriage and Prarie du Chien. Mamet's latest work, Romance, is currently enjoying an extended run at Off-Broadway's Atlantic Theatre Company. His most famous work, Glengarry Glen Ross, will open on Broadway later this spring.

Additionally, Mamet has written and directed such films as "House of Games," "Things Change," "Homicide" and "The Spanish Prisoner."

He and four other nominees will share a prize of $250,000 at an April 23 ceremony.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!