David Pichette, Grayson Smith, Hans Altwies, Merideth Kaye Clark Star in 5th Avenue Oliver!, Opening Dec. 5

News   David Pichette, Grayson Smith, Hans Altwies, Merideth Kaye Clark Star in 5th Avenue Oliver!, Opening Dec. 5
The 5th Avenue Theatre production of the classic Lionel Bart musical Oliver! officially opens Dec. 5 following previews that began at the Seattle venue Nov. 29.

David Pichette
David Pichette Photo by Mark Kitaoka

Directed by David Armstrong with choreography by Bob Richard and musical direction by Joel Fram, the family-friendly musical continues through Dec. 31.

Oliver! is a musical theatre gem that could not be a better fit for the holidays,” said executive producer and artistic director Armstrong in an earlier statement. “With messages of love and family at its core, Oliver! is a show that draws people closer together. And with the fantastic music and lyrics of Lionel Bart, it’s no wonder. You can’t walk away without humming at least one of a dozen favorite songs.”

The cast is headed by David Pichette as Fagin, Grayson Smith as the Artful Dodger, Hans Altwies as Bill Sikes and Merideth Kaye Clark as Nancy. Oliver Twist is played by Jack Fleischmann and Mark Jeffrey James Weber at alternating performances.

The company also includes Andrew Davison (Noah Claypole), Allen Fitzpatrick (Mr. Sowerberry/Mr. Bronlow), Hugh Hastings (Mr. Bumble, the Beadle), Naomi Morgan (Charlotte Sowerberry), Cheryl Massey Peters (Widow Corney), Matthew Posner (Dr. Grimwig), Karen Skrinde (Old Sally), Carol Swarbrick (Mrs. Sowerberry/Mrs. Bedwin) and Keaton Whittaker (Bet).

The ensemble comprises Andi Alhadeff, Scott Brateng, Jared Michael Brown, Ty Cheng, Gabriel Corey, Jeannette d’Armand, Sarah Rose Davis, Paul Flanagan, Cayman Ilika, Mallory King, Robert Krahen, Trina Mills, Riley Neldam, Aaron Shanks, Indeah Thomaier, and Billie Wildrick. Blaine Boyd joins is the male swing, and Alana Peters is the female swing. The massive children’s ensemble includes 45 youngsters (not all of whom appear in every performance): Eli Barnett, Callan Barth, Amalya Benhaim, Tyler Bocock, Jaden Bolibol, Caden Brauch, Gavyn Brayman, Abi Brittle, Benicio Bryant, Truett Burnett, Jake Carlos, Taylor Clark, Eliana Coe, Chris Coon, Gage DeSoto, Montserrat Fleck, Daniel Geiszler, Elijah Joseph Goodman, Delaney Guyer, Eliana Harrick, Jasmine Harrick, Dexter Johnson, Bryan M. Kinder, Jaryn Lasentia, Ethan Lech, Eli Lotz, Boaz Malakoff, Abigail McDaniel, Derek Mulkins, Ella Murphy, Christopher Murray, Ernie Musser, Sophie Poole, Sam Price, Lauren Raabe, Seth Remington, Anthony Rosenthal, Nathaniel Shipley, Naeem Shook, Soren Smith, Cameron Supplee, Christian West, Matt Wiles, Kyan Zielinski, and Skyler Wyatt Zimmerman.

The creative team also includes scenic and lighting designer Tom Sturge, costume designer Sarah Nash Gates, hair and makeup designer Mary Pyanowski, orchestrator Bruce Monroe, associate lighting designer Christian DeAngelis, assistant set designer Katherine Stromberger, second assistant set designer and second assistant lighting designer Tristan Roberson and costume design assistant Michelle Terese Grimm. Additional staff includes assistant directors Pauls Macs and Mathew Wright, assistant choreographer Trina Mills, associate music director Christopher Littlefield and dialect coach Gin Hammond.

Tickets (starting at $40.50) may be purchased online at 5thavenue.org, by phone at (206) 625-1900, or at the Box Office at 1308 5th Avenue in downtown Seattle.

Today’s Most Popular News: