Davis, Campbell, Boone and Hicks Join Uggams for Little Rock Readings

News   Davis, Campbell, Boone and Hicks Join Uggams for Little Rock Readings
Tony nominees Clifton Davis and Alan Campbell have joined the industry reading of Rajendra Ramoon Maharaj's Little Rock, to be presented at the Union Square Theatre.

Rebel Theater Company artistic director Maharaj directs his play which centers on the historic "Little Rock Nine." As previously reported, Tony-winning actress Leslie Uggams (Hallelujah, Baby!, On Golden Pond) will star as Arkansan #5 in the Sept. 29 and 30 presentations.

Newly announced cast members include Clifton Davis (Two Gentleman of Verona, Hello Dolly!) as Arkansan #6, with Alan Campbell (Sunset Boulevard, Contact), Sherry Boone (Jelly’s Last Jam, Master Class) as Arkansan #1 and Rodney Hicks (Rent, Jacques Brel).

Little Rock promises the "untold stories of nine young teenagers otherwise known as 'Little Rock Nine' and their struggles, strengths, hardships, and triumphs over the tragic events of the 1957 Little Rock crisis."

The "Little Rock Nine" are the historic group of African-American students who enrolled at the segregated Little Rock Central High School in 1957 and were initially denied entry by the Governor, but were later officially allowed entry by President Eisenhower. The decision was seen as a key turning point in the Civil Rights Movement.

Presentations will take place Sept. 29 at 7 PM, and Sept. 30 at 12 PM and 7 PM. Maharaj was the assistant director of the Tony Award-winning 2004 Broadway revival of A Raisin in the Sun. His plays include Mississippi Night, Diss Diss & Diss Dat, Twenty-Five, Gray, Children of the Dream and BlackfootNotes.

The Union Square Theatre is located at 100 East 17 Street. For further information, e-mail wicgrsvp@gmail.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: