Decca Broadway to Release Young Frankenstein CD in December

News   Decca Broadway to Release Young Frankenstein CD in December
The starry cast of Young Frankenstein, the new Mel Brooks-Thomas Meehan musical version of the Brooks film comedy, will head into the recording studio Nov. 12.

Roger Bart in Young Frankenstein.
Roger Bart in Young Frankenstein. Photo by Paul Kolnik

A spokesperson for Decca Broadway told that the original cast recording of the new musical, which officially opens Nov. 8, will arrive in stores Dec. 26. Doug Besterman, Young Frankenstein's orchestrator, will be the recording producer for the Decca Broadway CD.

Although the new musical at the Hilton Theatre does not feature an overture, Mel Brooks has composed a special overture for the recording, according to the Decca spokesperson.

The original cast recording of Young Frankenstein will also be available for purchase on iTunes and in the lobby of the Hilton Theatre in late December.

The production stars Tony winner Roger Bart (Dr. Frederick Frankenstein), Megan Mullally (as the doctor's love interest, Elizabeth), Tony winner Sutton Foster (as comely assistant Inga, who sings a number called "Roll in the Hay"), Tony winner Shuler Hensley (The Monster), Tony winner Andrea Martin (as castle matron Frau Blucher), Fred Applegate (as Transylvanian policeman Inspector Kemp, and a Hermit) and Christopher Fitzgerald (as hunchback Igor) with an ensemble that includes Heather Ayers, Jim Borstelmann, Paul Castree, Jennifer Lee Crowl, Jack Doyle, Renée Feder, James Gray, Amy Heggins, Eric Jackson, Kristin Marie Johnson, Matthew LaBanca, Kevin Ligon, Barrett Martin, Linda Mugleston, Christina Marie Norrup, Justin Patterson, Brian Shepard, Sarrah Strimel, Craig Waletzko and Courtney Young.

Susan Stroman directs and choreographs the production, which features a score by Mel Brooks and a book by Thomas Meehan and Brooks. Song titles include "The Happiest Town," "The Brain," "Please Don't Touch Me," "Together Again," "Roll in the Hay," "Join the Family Business," "He Vas My Boyfriend," "The Law," "Life, Life," "Welcome to Transylvania," "Transylvania Mania," "He's Loose," "Listen to Your Heart," "Surprise," "Please Send Me Someone," "Man About Town," "Puttin' on the Ritz" (music and lyrics by Irving Berlin), "Deep Love," "Frederick's Soliloquy," "Deep Love (reprise)" and "Finale Ultimo."

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: