Denée Benton, Julie Taymor, and More Among Tonight’s Lilly Honorees | Playbill

Awards Denée Benton, Julie Taymor, and More Among Tonight’s Lilly Honorees
The awards, which celebrate women in theatre, are held in New York City.
Denee Benton _The_Great_Comet_Opening_Night_26_HR.jpg
Denée Benton Monica Simoes

The Lilly Awards celebrate women in theatre May 22 at Playwrights Horizons. Among the evening’s honorees are Julie Taymor, Denée Benton, Micki Grant, Toni-Leslie James, Mandy Greenfield, Madison Ferris, and Beanie Feldstein. Composer Stephen Schwartz is this year’s Miss Lilly recipient.

The 8th annual awards are hosted by Tony-winning playwright and performer Sarah Jones. Cynthia Nixon, Ruben Santiago-Hudson, and David Henry Hwang are presenters at the ceremony.

The Lilly Awards were founded in 2010 by Julia Jordan, Marsha Norman, and Theresa Rebeck with a mission to honor and recognize women's achievements in the world of theatre. In addition to awarding annual prizes, the Awards created The National Count, the largest study of the programming choices of non-profit theatres.

The awards are named after playwright Lillian Hellman, whose play The Little Foxes is currently being revived on Broadway at Manhattan Theatre Club's Samuel J. Friedman Theatre.

Previous Lilly Award winners include Gloria Steinem, Jessie Mueller, Danai Gurira, Lupita Nyong’o and the women of Eclipsed, Mary Rodgers, Dominique Morisseau, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Jeanine Tesori, Liesl Tommy, Kelli O’Hara, Pam MacKinnon, Leigh Silverman, Anne Kauffman, Sarah Ruhl, Kathy Najimy, Kristin Chenoweth, Annie Baker, Susan Stroman, Lynn Ahrens, Tina Fallon, Amy Herzog, Nina Arianda, Diane Paulus, Katori Hall, Tina Howe, Estelle Parsons, Lynne Meadow, Ntozake Shange, Jessica Hecht, and Lois Smith.

Scroll through photos of last year’s awards featuring Mueller, Nyong’o, Najimy, and more.

Jessie Mueller, Lupita Nyong'o, Kathy Najimy and More at the 2016 Lilly Awards

(Updated May 22, 2017)

For more information, visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!