Directing Team for Tony Awards Wins Directors Guild of America Award | Playbill

News Directing Team for Tony Awards Wins Directors Guild of America Award
Glenn Weiss and the directing team of the 67th Annual Tony Awards have been honored with the 2014 Directors Guild of America Award in the category of Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports-Specials.

"We couldn’t be more proud of Glenn and his directing team on their Directors Guild Award honor. It has been a thrill to partner with them each and every year — and to watch them translate the magic of the Broadway stage onto the small screen for fans all over the country," Charlotte St. Martin, executive director of The Broadway League, and Heather Hitchens, executive director of the American Theater Wing, said in a joint statement.

Awarded members of Weiss' directing team include associate directors Ken Diego, Robin Abrams, Stefani Cohen and Ricky Kirshner, as well as stage managers Garry Hood, Phyllis Digilio-Kent, Peter Epstein, Andrew Feigin, Lynn Finkel, Doug Fogel, Jeffry Gitter, Arthur Lewis, Jeffrey M. Markowitz, Joey Meade, Seth Mellman, Tony Mirante, Cyndi Owgang, Jeff Pearl, Elise Reaves and Lauren Class Schneider

This marks Weiss' fifth time receiving the award; he previously won the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Musical Variety in 2007, 2010, 2011 and 2012 for the 61st, 64th, 65th and 66th annual Tony Awards.

He was also nominated for the category in 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2008 and 2014, for the 55th, 56th, 59th, 60th, 62nd and 67th annual Tony Awards.

Visit for more information.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!