Donna Murphy Among Women's Project & Productions' 2004 Honorees at June 7 Gala | Playbill

Related Articles
News Donna Murphy Among Women's Project & Productions' 2004 Honorees at June 7 Gala Women's Project & Productions has named Donna Murphy, Robin Burns, Gail Sheehy and Susan Wadsworth as honorees for its annual Women of Achievement Awards Gala, to be held June 7 at The Supper Club in Manhattan.
Donna Murphy in Wonderful Town
Donna Murphy in Wonderful Town Photo by Paul Kolnick

The 2004 gala, Wonderful Women/Wonderful Town, will be hosted by Frances Sternhagen, with 1991 honoree Susan Sarandon serving as the honorary chairman.

Past honorees include Diane Sawyer, Judi Dench, Camille Cosby, Twyla Tharp, Tina Brown, Evelyn Lauder, Barbara Walters, Annie Leibowitz, Maya Angelou and Whoopi Goldberg.

The four women selected for this year's honors are:

  • Donna Murphy, two-time Tony winner for Best Actress in a Musical for Passion and The King and I. She is nominated again this season for her starring performance Wonderful Town.


  • Robin Burns, who at age 30 as president of Calvin Klein cosmetics, launched the highly successful Obsession and Eternity fragrances. She is president and CEO of Victoria's Secret Beauty Company, where she is developing a line of fragrance and skin care products.
  • Gail Sheehy, the distinguished author and cultural observer. Her landmark book "Passages" made history, remaining on The New York Times best-seller list for more than three years and appearing in 28 languages. Her biography of Hillary Clinton, "Hillary’s Choice," was made into a film which airs soon on A&E.
  • Susan Wadsworth, internationally acclaimed founder and artistic director of Young Concert Artists, Inc. which discovers and launches the careers of brilliant but unknown, young musicians from all over the world. Alumni include Pinchas Zuckerman, Murray Perahia, Emanuel Ax and Dawn Upshaw. In a special presentation, The Women's Project Theater at 424 West 55th Street will officially become The Julia Miles Theater in honor of the founder and artistic director emeritus.

    Women's Project & Productions bills itself as "the country's foremost theatre for developing and producing women theatre artists."

    The troupe recently appointed Loretta Greco as the new producing artistic director, who recently directed The Story at The Public Theater.


    Founded by Julia Miles in 1978, Women's Project has staged 115 productions, over 400 readings and published eight anthologies of produced work by such distinguished writers as Maria Irene Fornes, Marlene Meyer and Anna Deavere Smith. Its roster of respected directors includes Anne Bogart, Julianne Boyd, Liz Diamond, Loretta Greco, Carey Perloff, Billie Allen, Emily Mann and Evan Yionoulis.

    Women's Project programs include the Playwrights Lab and Directors Forum for emerging and mid-career artists, and the award-winning arts-in-education program, Ten Centuries of Women Playwrights.

    The gala's cocktail reception begins at 7 PM, with dinner and the awards presentation at 8 PM. Tickets for the Gala are $500, $750 and $1,000 and are available by calling (212) 765-1706, ext. 203.

    Today’s Most Popular News:

    Blocking belongs
    on the stage,
    not on websites.

    Our website is made possible by
    displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    Please consider supporting us by
    whitelisting with your ad blocker.
    Thank you!