Drury Lane's The Sound of Music Has Tony Nominee Patti Cohenour; Cast Announced

News   Drury Lane's The Sound of Music Has Tony Nominee Patti Cohenour; Cast Announced
Patti Cohenour is Mother Abbess, Larry Adams is Captain von Trapp and Jennifer Blood is Maria in Drury Lane Theatre's new production of Rodgers and Hammerstein's The Sound of Music, beginning previews Oct. 20 in suburban Chicago.

Jeff Award winner Rachel Rockwell (Sweeney Todd, Ragtime and Miss Saigon at Drury Lane Theatre) directs the Tony Award-winning Best Musical (Hammerstein's final show) about a young nun who is sent from a convent to be governess to a family headed by a stern widower. It's inspired by a true story.

Opening night is Oct. 27. The production continues to Dec. 23 in Oakbrook Terrace, IL.

Five-time Jeff Award nominee Adams appeared in the Broadway production and national tour The Phantom of the Opera; 1986 Tony nominee Cohenour was Mother Abbess in the 1997 Broadway revival of The Sound of Music, Christine in The Phantom of the Opera on Broadway and received her Featured Actress Tony nomination for The Mystery of Edwin Drood; newcomer Blood appeared in Off-Broadway's Falling for Eve.

The Sound of Music also features Jeff Award nominee McKinley Carter as Elsa; Jeff Award winner David Girolmo as Herr Zeller (Drury Lane Theatre's Sweeney Todd, Candide on Broadway, Passion at Ravinia); Katie Huff as Liesl (Drury Lane Theatre's Seven Brides for Seven Brothers); Jeff Award nominee Peter Kevoian as Max (The Screwtape Letters at The Mercury Theater); Jeff Award winner John Reeger as Franz (Sunset Boulevard at Marriott Theatre, Amadeus at Chicago Shakespeare Theatre); Jeff Award winner Paula Scrofano as Frau Schmidt (Broadway Bound at Drury Lane Theatre, Sunday in the Park with George at Goodman Theatre); Jeff Award nominee Craig Spidle as Admiral von Schrieber; and Brandon Springman as Rolf.

The company also includes Julia Baker and Marie Claire Popernick (Gretl); Arielle Dayan and Ingrid Lowry (Brigitta); Zach Keller (Friedrich); Emily Leahy and Hannah Whitlock (Marta); Ethan Lupp and Ben Parkhill (Kurt); Laura Nelson and Dana Paulo (Louisa). The ensemble includes Michael Accardo, Audrey Billings, Gary Carlson, Jeff Diebold, Michael Ehlers, Natalie Ford, James Lee Glatz, Cory Goodrich, Sophie Grimm, Catherine Lord, Emilie Lynn, Ann McMann, Liz Pazik, Genevieve Perrino and Jennie Sophia. Musical direction is by Jeff Award winner Roberta Duchak. The creative team includes set designer Kevin Depinet; lighting designer Jesse Klug; costume designer Theresa Ham; sound designer Garth Helm; wig designer Rick Jarvie.

For more information, visit www.drurylaneoakbrook.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: