Ebersole, Galati Among Presenters at TDF/Irene Sharaff Design Awards March 23 | Playbill

Related Articles
News Ebersole, Galati Among Presenters at TDF/Irene Sharaff Design Awards March 23 Actress Christine Ebersole (Grey Gardens) and director Frank Galati (The Pirate Queen) will be among the presenters and Santo Loquasto and Bob Mackie will be among the honorees at the TDF/Irene Sharaff Awards ceremony March 23 at the Hudson Theatre in New York.

Christine Ebersole
Christine Ebersole Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Loquasto will receive the Robert L. B. Tobin Award for Lifetime Achievement in Theatrical Design, presented by Galati. Mackie will get the TDF/Irene Sharaff Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by Ebersole.

The costume designer Murell Horton will get the TDF/Irene Sharaff Young Master Award, presented by Michael Kahn. The puppet craftsman and costume designer Kermit Love will receive the TDF/Irene Sharaff Artisan Award, presented by Pamela Arciero.

Director-designer Rouben Ter-Arutunian will be named the winner of the TDF/Irene Sharaff Posthumous Award. The ceremony will include a showing of a documentary on the life and works of Ter-Artunian, produced by Suzy Benzinger.

Loquasto has designed the sets, costumes or both for over 50 Broadway productions. He has been nominated for 14 Tony Awards and has won three times, for The Cherry Orchard (1977, costumes), Café Crown (1989, sets) and Grand Hotel (1990, costumes). His recent Broadway credits include Movin' Out (sets), A Touch of the Poet (costumes and sets), Three Days of Rain (costumes and sets) and Shining City (sets).

Loquasto has famously collaborated with Woody Allen on over 20 films, and received Oscar nominations for "Zelig," "Radio Days" and "Bullets Over Broadway." He is designing both sets and costumes for the upcoming 110 in the Shade and Inherit the Wind and sets for the upcoming Prelude to a Kiss. Mackie, known mostly for designing costumes for television (winning nine Emmy Awards) has also designed costumes for many Broadway shows, including Moon over Buffalo, Putting It Together, Best Little Whorehouse Goes Public, Minnelli on Minnelli, Lorelei and On the Town. He received Oscar nominations for "Pennies from Heaven," "Lady Sings the Blues" and "Funny Lady." His television credits include "Once upon a Mattress" starring Carol Burnett and "Gypsy" starring Bette Midler.

Horton is best known for his costume designs at Washington, DC's Shakespeare Theatre, receiving three Helen Hayes Award nominations for his work there, for Camino Real, Hedda Gabler and Lorenzaccio. In 2005 Murell designed Lysistrata at the New York City Opera and the Houston Grand Opera. At Manhattan's Pearl Theatre Company, he has designed costumes for The Barber of Seville, The Guardsman, Cymbeline, The Chairs and Venice Preserv'd and both sets and costumes for Richard III, The Miser and The School for Scandal.

Love is known for his work with the Muppets, building much of the character of Big Bird and building Mr. Snuffleupagus. He also created the Snuggle fabric softener teddy bear and the characters for the television series "The Great Space Coaster" in the 1980s. He designed costumes for several Broadway shows in the 1930s and 1940s and has done a lot of work for dance shows.

Ter-Arutunian's Broadway credits include New Girl in Town, Donnybrook! (sets), The Milk Train Doesn't Stop Here Anymore (costumes and sets). He won a Tony Award for Best Costume Design for Redhead and was nominated for Advise and Consent (sets), A Passage to India (sets), Arturo Ui (costumes) and Goodtime Charley (sets). He died in 1992.

The selection committee included Gregg Barnes, Suzy Benzinger, Linda Fisher, Lana Fritz, Rodney Gordon, Desmond Heeley, Holly Hynes, Willa Kim, Carolyn Kostopoulous, Kitty Leech, David Murin, Sally Ann Parsons, Robert Perdziola, Carrie Robbins, Eduardo Sicangco, Scott Traugott, Jose Varona, Tony Walton, Patrick Wiley and David Zinn.

Irene Sharaff was a revered costume designer and was the first winner of the TDF/Irene Sharaff Lifetime Achievement Award in 1993.

Mackie joins the list of other previous winners of that prize: Desmond Heeley (1994), Miles White (1996), Alvin Colt (1996), Patricia Zipprodt (1997), Jane Greenwood (1998), Willa Kim (1999), Ann Roth (2000), Freddy Wittop (2001), Theoni V. Aldredge (2002), Jose Varona (2003), Anthony Powell (2004), Florence Klotz (2005) and Lester Polakov (2006).

Loquasto joins the previous Tobin Award winners Tony Walton (2004), Robert O'Hearn (2005) and Franco Zeffirelli (2006).

The Tobin Theatre Arts Fund is underwriting this year's awards ceremony.

For more information visit www.tdf.org.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!