Ebersole, Stritch, Dexter, Maye and Jones Among 2009 Nightlife Winners | Playbill

Related Articles
News Ebersole, Stritch, Dexter, Maye and Jones Among 2009 Nightlife Winners Two-time Tony Award winner Christine Ebersole, Billy Stritch, Baby Jane Dexter, Marilyn Maye and Hank Jones are among the winners of the 2009 Nightlife Awards, which will be presented Jan. 26 at Town Hall in Manhattan.
Christine Ebersole
Christine Ebersole Photo by Aubrey Reuben

The winners of the 7 PM awards show, honoring the best of New York cabaret, comedy and jazz, will offer performances rather than acceptance speeches. The Nightlife awards concert will be directed Noah Racey (Curtains, Never Gonna Dance).

Nightlife Awards creator and producer Scott Siegel said in a statement, "Announcing these exceptional winners, just three weeks before the awards show, itself, makes me giddy with anticipation. I can't wait for Jan. 26 when anyone who buys our sponsored-supported, reasonably priced tickets will get to enjoy what has gained a reputation as one of the year's most exciting, talent-packed concerts."

Nightlife Award winners set to perform include Marilyn Maye (Outstanding Cabaret Vocalist in a Major Engagement); Christine Ebersole and Billy Stritch (Outstanding Cabaret Duo in a Major Engagement); Baby Jane Dexter (Outstanding Cabaret Vocalist); Helen Baldassare (Outstanding Cabaret Comedy or Characterization); Hank Jones (Outstanding Jazz Soloist); Freddie Cole (Outstanding Jazz Vocalist in a Major Engagement); Allan Harris (Outstanding Jazz Vocalist); comedians Mike Birbiglia (Outstanding Comedian in a Major Engagement) and John Mulaney (Outstanding Comedian); After Party open-mike host Brandon Cutrell (Outstanding Piano Bar Entertainer); as well as selections from "Nashville," featuring Daryl Glenn and Jo Lynn Burks (Outstanding Cabaret Duo or Group); comedy from Improvised Shakespeare and duo Kurt Braunhohler and Kristen Schall, who tied for Outstanding Comic Duo or Group.

Broadway showman Tommy Tune will appear alongside previously revealed talents including country star Larry Gatlin, 9 to 5's Stephanie J. Block and Taboo's Euan Morton. Additional presenters and performers will be announced shortly.

Tickets, priced $75, $50 and $25, are available by calling (212) 307-4100, online at ticketmaster.com, or by visiting the Town Hall box office (123 West 43rd Street).

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!