Free Workshop of Butterfly, With Anthony Rapp and Steven Walters, Presented May 8-15

News   Free Workshop of Butterfly, With Anthony Rapp and Steven Walters, Presented May 8-15
Royal Family Productions, Inc. presents a free developmental workshop of Nobody Suspects a Butterfly May 8-15 at TBG Theatre in Manhattan.

Anthony Rapp
Anthony Rapp Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Written and directed by Chris Henry, with additional writing by Katie Avebe, the production features choreography by Dante Puleio.

The cast boasts Anthony Rapp (Rent) and Steven Walters (“Friday Night Lights”) as well as Luis Amory, Patricia Buckley, Danielle Chmbers, Sean Cullen, Reyna De Courcy, Lindsey Gruber, William Ham, Paul Jones, James Kautz, Charlie Kevin, Matt Lundy, Eric T. Miller, Dan Morrison, Lara J. Mummert, Heather Phillips, Daniel Shafer, Zak Slemmer, Eric Stone, Amanda Sykes and Nic Tyler.

Based on a true story, Nobody Suspects a Butterfly utilizes dance, flashbacks, projections and interviews in an interdisciplinary work that "dissects the media's obsession with a small town coping with the suicides of five young athletes," according to press notes. "In Winthrop, Maine, (pop. 6,724) within a span of 26 months five former high school athletes committed suicide. The media sought to find reason by focusing on one aspect of these boys lives — high school football. When CNN and Sports Illustrated investigated the story, it became national news." Writers Henry and Avebe both grew up in Winthrop. They began interviewing people for this piece in March 2008.

The creative team includes Alex Koch (video designer), Claire Karoff (set designer), David Bengali (lighting designer), Jeff Watts (costume designer), Jeanne Wu (sound designer), David Buchs (composer) and Ron Piretti (fight director).

Performance times are May 8 and May 10 at 8 PM, May 11 at 7 PM, May 12 at noon, May 13 at 2 PM and 8 PM and May 15 at 7 PM. TBG Theatre is located 312 W 36th Street, 3rd Floor. Although tickets are free, reservations are required by e-mailing


A special benefit celebration, with honorary chairs Abigail E Disney and Ross Greenburg, will be presented May 14 at 8 PM. For tickets, priced $250, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: